X70 Timecode question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Sony 4K Ultra HD Handhelds

Sony 4K Ultra HD Handhelds
Pro and consumer versions including PXW-Z150, PXW-Z100, PXW-X70 / FDR-AX100


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 2nd, 2015, 09:13 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 347
X70 Timecode question

Is there a way to set-up the timecode so that when I start recording it starts at zero and in ten seconds it shows me that I recorded ten seconds? I can do this on my EX1 but for some reason cannot figure out how to do this on the X70.

Thanks.
Marc Salvatore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2015, 11:41 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seminole Texas
Posts: 45
Re: X70 Timecode question

The only way I have found is to go to the menu and set the timecode to 0 before you start recording.
James E. Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2015, 11:45 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Re: X70 Timecode question

Quote:
Originally Posted by James E. Thomas View Post
The only way I have found is to go to the menu and set the timecode to 0 before you start recording.
I agree.
I have turned this camera upside down & backwards trying to get it to automatically reset to 0 for each take.
There is apparently no way to do it.
That function could be restored in a future firmware update, but I'm not sure that Sony recognizes this as being a actual problem for many of us.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2015, 07:35 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,942
Re: X70 Timecode question

I do not think any of the Sony Pro cameras auto reset timecode. It means that there is no confusion in time sequence on the camera unless deliberately reset. Timecode works the same way on my NX30U and NX5U. There is however a setting that will continue the timecode that is on the media so you could preset the cards to any value for instance and make the default setting in the menu to use "regenerate" in the TC make menu. If you do not set any value for preset and the card is empty the time code will start at 0. If you have any recording on the card of course it will continue that time code.

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Sony 4K Ultra HD Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:09 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network