X-70 EXEC Button P.I.A. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Sony 4K Ultra HD Handhelds

Sony 4K Ultra HD Handhelds
Pro and consumer versions including PXW-Z150, PXW-Z100, PXW-X70 / FDR-AX100


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 12th, 2015, 09:30 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 118
X-70 EXEC Button P.I.A.

I really love my X-70 with the exception of the EXEC button. I certainly cannot use it to scroll with my thumb while my hand is in the strap. This is minor compared to using the button itself...... Arrowing in one position or another along with scrolling is a major P.I.A. for me. It takes several attempts to position what I want in the menu. I have to press on the very edge of the button in order to get it to move where I want, which takes several attempts without it moving in another direction. In my opinion, it's way to sensitive.... Are others having this issue? If so, what's your solution? Thanks, Ray
Ray Paula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2015, 10:08 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Therwil, Switzerland
Posts: 32
Re: X-70 EXEC Button P.I.A.

You are completely right. I have to set the camera on a table to use the EXEC toggle button. It's a shame.
Roland Achini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2015, 10:39 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 489
Re: X-70 EXEC Button P.I.A.

For me, the button is at a very awkward angle. I really have to stretch back my thumb to hit it. And, once there it's far too easy to *press* the button when you mean to just *move* it left/right/up/down. That being said, I've had the camera since Dec. 1, so I've adjusted to it. I just have to make sure I press the side of the thing rather than one of the corners.
David Dixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2015, 05:59 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 118
Re: X-70 EXEC Button P.I.A.

Sitting it on a table and/or on my lap is the only way I can use it. Going through the menu on the fly is totally out of the picture. I sincerely doubt that this can be fixed by an update due to it being mechanical. It took me a good 15 minutes to setup my SD card order...... Thanks for listening to me whine, but for good reason. Ray
Ray Paula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2015, 06:22 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,778
Re: X-70 EXEC Button P.I.A.

My only issue is it's a been sensitive. I can access it with my hand strap hand when I'm supporting the camera with my other hand.
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2015, 06:56 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: WILMINGTON, NC, USA
Posts: 25
Re: X-70 EXEC Button P.I.A.

I guess that I am in the minority here... I much prefer it to one of those round four-way rocker things. I tend keep my thumb either on it or reasonably close to it. When my thumb is on it I already have moderate pressure applied. So, when I want to use it as a joystick, it is quite easy for me to simply nudge my thumb on way or the other. I don't use the "edge" of my thumb at all, since the pad of my thumb is very positively or solidly in contact with the joystick. This makes the movement of my thumb easily transfer my "directional intent" to the joystick.
Bob Searl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2015, 12:30 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego, Califonia
Posts: 1,330
Re: X-70 EXEC Button P.I.A.

I love the PIA, I mean EXEC button! On my X180/X200, I have to reach my free hand across the LCD to manipulate the hard to feel buttons on top when the LCD flips down. I cannot for the life of me get used to the wheel button thing on the side of these cameras. JVC's have the best menu controls, a menu button and a giant round 4 way button, very simple to use.

I typically have the handle, mic,a nd an LED light on my X70, so I think I keep part of my palm slightly under the button, which might make my thumb find the PIA button easier.

Paul
Paul Anderegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2015, 09:32 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 60
Re: X-70 EXEC Button P.I.A.

I can operate it just fine, but it is in an awkward location. If it was where the HDMI port is, it would be much more ergonomically located and easier to operate. I wish the Menu button was located near the EXEC button, as it takes two hand operation to get into the menu and use it.
Stephen Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2015, 10:51 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 118
Re: X-70 EXEC Button P.I.A.

Hopefully, I will find a way to use the EXEC button with ease as most of you have. Thanks, Ray
Ray Paula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2015, 06:32 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 142
Re: X-70 EXEC Button P.I.A.

I find that I end up selecting something prematurely. So as with some, I typically just set the cam down and use the rocker switch with hand out of the grip.

Thankfully I don't find the need to use that rocker often, so not a huge deal.

Probably has something to do with the size and/or flexibility of our hands/fingers.
Ricky Sharp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2015, 11:11 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 364
Re: X-70 EXEC Button P.I.A.

I have to twist my hand a little to use it too, but I agree with Stephen that it would be nice if the menu button were near the joystick. But then people would be complaining that it was too easy to hit the menu button by mistake. I think they could have gotten away with a mini HDMI jack and put the HDMI port in a different location to conserve more room. I think by now, most people have mini-HDMI cables from other devices. I personally prefer the LCD menu navigation system the Canon XA-series camcorders use, and with LCD navigation you can have pre-menus for simple things like setting white balance and audio w/o having to go into the main menu (which isn't convenient at all). But the action of the X70's joystick is pretty fool-proof. Sony probably would have went with LCD navigation were it not targeted towards "professional" users, who would probably revolt. The simplest and easiest to use system I ever used was on my old VX2000/PD150 camera with the wheel right on the back bottom of the camcorder where it was easy to find.
__________________
Mark Goodsell
Mark Goodsell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2015, 05:50 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 118
Re: X-70 EXEC Button P.I.A.

Still trying to navigate with my P.I.A. Exec button........ It takes me at least 5 to 8 tries before I can get to the menu function I want. I'm glad I don't use this camera for a living.... It would in all likelihood have to go. Thanks for letting me whine.......LOL. Ray
Ray Paula is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Sony 4K Ultra HD Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network