Sony a7s and wifi remote control at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Alpha and NEX Camera Systems > Sony Alpha Mirrorless and DSLR

Sony Alpha Mirrorless and DSLR
Sony Alpha a7s: Full HD Recording in XAVC and 4:2:2 UHD 4K Output via HDMI.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 25th, 2015, 04:36 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nieuw-Vossemeer, The Netherlands
Posts: 451
Sony a7s and wifi remote control

Before I start spending my time finding out how to install the firmware on camera and iPad, does anyone know if the Remote Control app also works in video mode?
__________________
Cees van Kempen
www.iwp-wildlife.com
Cees van Kempen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2015, 04:41 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 280
Re: Sony a7s and wifi remote control

It works in video mode. You get a record start/stop button and an EV compensation dial. I was using a manual focus lens when I tested it so I can't say whether or not tap focus is present.
Matt Sharp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2015, 02:10 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nieuw-Vossemeer, The Netherlands
Posts: 451
Re: Sony a7s and wifi remote control

Thanks Matt. Does it also show the picture in the screen?
__________________
Cees van Kempen
www.iwp-wildlife.com
Cees van Kempen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2015, 12:57 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 430
Re: Sony a7s and wifi remote control

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cees van Kempen View Post
Thanks Matt. Does it also show the picture in the screen?
Yes, and it works okay as a monitor. Not quite real time, but close.

No focus peaking or zebra stripes, but you can adjust exposure comp while shooting. It also has a mirror mode so the talent can view themselves. I have an A7II, but expect it's the same on an A7s.
Charles W. Hull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2015, 03:21 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nieuw-Vossemeer, The Netherlands
Posts: 451
Re: Sony a7s and wifi remote control

I am using a Shogun to shoot 4K from my a7s. Installed the apps in camera and iPhone. Alas it turns out that hdmi out is switched to HD when you open the app, so shooting 4K with the shogun and using the remote control app at the same time seems not possible.
__________________
Cees van Kempen
www.iwp-wildlife.com
Cees van Kempen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2015, 04:51 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tinton Falls, NJ
Posts: 749
Re: Sony a7s and wifi remote control

We noticed this as well. Set up an overhead shot and thought we'd trigger from a tablet. Triggering and monitoring worked fine - but then we discovered the Shogun recording was in regular HD...
Dave Sperling is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Alpha and NEX Camera Systems > Sony Alpha Mirrorless and DSLR

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:58 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network