PDW-F700 No longer CineAlta at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts
Sony PDW-F800, PDW-700, PDW-850, PXW-X500 (XDCAM HD) and PMW-400, PMW-320 (XDCAM EX).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 25th, 2008, 04:02 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Posts: 201
PDW-F700 No longer CineAlta

After looking at the brochure for the new PDW-F700 I noticed that the CineAlta logo has been replaced with a PowerHAD logo instead. http://news.sel.sony.com/en/press_ro...ase/34009.html
http://news.sel.sony.com/en/image_li...asset_id=33585

Will the new XDCAM not support 24p?

What are your thoughts?
__________________
Mitchell J. Skurnik
http://www.mjcsstudios.com/ - EX1, 4x hoodman 16GB, Libec Tripod, Sony LAV
Mitchell Skurnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2008, 04:39 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Graz, Austria
Posts: 44
Also in the brochure cam/deck is nowhere a CA-Logo ^^
*wondering...*

http://www.sony.de/res/attachment/fi...3315636944.pdf
Robert Schemitsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2008, 05:20 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 383
As far as I know it doesn't do 24p, that excludes it from CineAlta
Steve Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2008, 10:22 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 137
correct. 24p has apparently been out of the recipe for the 700 for some time now. also - there is no "F" in the name - an additional indicator that confirms the lack of 24p. (ie: F900)


interestingly, i see that the model CBS News is adopting is specifically the PDW-700H. it's the first time i've seen the 700 described with a suffix of any sort.

what i'm wondering is:
how the ethernet capabilities would be used.....(sorry - didn't mean to hijack...) and if a firewire deck could be plugged directly into the 700 and files transferred to it without the need for a computer....
__________________
Brian Young - Los Angeles - www.FlacaProductions.com
F800, F5, FS7, A7s
Brian T. Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2008, 10:46 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Posts: 201
I wonder if they think the PDW-700 would compete too much with the lower end hdcams...

Where did you see an article about CBS and XDCAM?
__________________
Mitchell J. Skurnik
http://www.mjcsstudios.com/ - EX1, 4x hoodman 16GB, Libec Tripod, Sony LAV
Mitchell Skurnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2008, 10:47 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 137
i saw a cbs memo. not really my place to re-post it here, tho...sorry.
__________________
Brian Young - Los Angeles - www.FlacaProductions.com
F800, F5, FS7, A7s
Brian T. Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2008, 10:49 AM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian T. Young View Post
what i'm wondering is:
how the ethernet capabilities would be used.....
The XDCAM SD cameras have the ethernet capability. Essentially, being an ethernet device on a network means it can be shared across a LAN or WAN. Imagine that you plug your camera in via ethernet and we have VPN (virtual private networking) set up between us. I could 'see' your camera as a network drive and pull files from it just as if it were sitting here (albeit a slower connection via internet).

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2008, 10:51 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 137
that's what i figured - thanks for clarifying.

can i transfer direct to a hard drive via the firewire connection????
__________________
Brian Young - Los Angeles - www.FlacaProductions.com
F800, F5, FS7, A7s

Last edited by Brian T. Young; March 27th, 2008 at 11:55 AM.
Brian T. Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2008, 03:16 PM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian T. Young View Post
can i transfer direct to a hard drive via the firewire connection????
No, you can't go direct to a hard drive. It would be nice if you could just do a file copy after the fact by hooking up a firewire drive.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2008, 03:22 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 137
so the firewire 'out' is only for a dv stream or FAM mode reading off of the disk?
__________________
Brian Young - Los Angeles - www.FlacaProductions.com
F800, F5, FS7, A7s
Brian T. Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2008, 03:25 PM   #11
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian T. Young View Post
so the firewire 'out' is only for a dv stream or FAM mode reading off of the disk?
Yes, that's how it works on my camera. You can also hook up a firewire cable in AV/C mode for deck control while using the HDSDI output into a capture card.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2008, 03:27 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 137
greg - thanks much - i didn't mean to hijack this thread, and i appreciate your input and your time.
__________________
Brian Young - Los Angeles - www.FlacaProductions.com
F800, F5, FS7, A7s
Brian T. Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2008, 05:17 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Belgium | Europe
Posts: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Boston View Post
The XDCAM SD cameras have the ethernet capability. Essentially, being an ethernet device on a network means it can be shared across a LAN or WAN. Imagine that you plug your camera in via ethernet and we have VPN (virtual private networking) set up between us. I could 'see' your camera as a network drive and pull files from it just as if it were sitting here (albeit a slower connection via internet).

-gb-
The PDW-700 also has this ethernet connection for FTP.
Ivan Snoeckx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2008, 05:59 PM   #14
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivan Snoeckx View Post
The PDW-700 also has this ethernet connection for FTP.
Thanks Ivan, I am aware of that. I was explaining to Brian that it was a feature that first debuted on the XDCAM SD cameras. As in, this isn't a brand new feature for the 700. I guess I wasn't clear in my earlier post.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:20 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network