Firmware v1.93 version for F355? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts
Sony PDW-F800, PDW-700, PDW-850, PXW-X500 (XDCAM HD) and PMW-400, PMW-320 (XDCAM EX).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 1st, 2008, 12:37 AM   #1
Telecam Films
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 723
Firmware v1.93 version for F355?

Does anyone knows where to download the version 1.93 firmware for the PDW-F355 camera? The version on Sony's US support site is corrupted. (file size is only 14kb)

Thanks.
__________________
Thierry Humeau, DoP
TÚlÚcam Films
www.telecamfilms.com
Thierry Humeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2008, 01:16 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Posts: 201
ftp://storage@ftp.sony.com/XDCAM%20-...%20-%20AT1.10/
__________________
Mitchell J. Skurnik
http://www.mjcsstudios.com/ - EX1, 4x hoodman 16GB, Libec Tripod, Sony LAV
Mitchell Skurnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2008, 01:22 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Posts: 201
Interesting note:
How to Upgrade Camcorder Software.pdf
"Format a Memory Stick (minimum size is 8M up to 2GB) in the camcorder"

I guess cards greater than 128mb now work with the 355 :)
__________________
Mitchell J. Skurnik
http://www.mjcsstudios.com/ - EX1, 4x hoodman 16GB, Libec Tripod, Sony LAV
Mitchell Skurnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2008, 09:58 AM   #4
Telecam Films
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 723
Thanks Mitchell!
__________________
Thierry Humeau, DoP
TÚlÚcam Films
www.telecamfilms.com
Thierry Humeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2008, 12:36 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Starkville, MS
Posts: 96
We received our F355 last week. How do I check to what firmware version shiped with the camera?
Tim Allison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2008, 02:33 PM   #6
Telecam Films
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 723
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Allison View Post
We received our F355 last week. How do I check to what firmware version shiped with the camera?
1. Turn on "advanced menus" by pressing the rotary switch in the front down and flipping the menu switch ON.

2. Scroll down to "diagnosis"

3. Select ROM version, it will list your camera firmware.

FYI, I also received a new F355 last week and it the firmware was old. You definetly want to go up to v1.93

Best,

Thierry.
__________________
Thierry Humeau, DoP
TÚlÚcam Films
www.telecamfilms.com
Thierry Humeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2008, 04:11 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Starkville, MS
Posts: 96
Thierry:

It says:

AT : 1.00
PACKAGE: 1.76
FRESH : 2.14
COPRO : 2.18
CLEAN : 2.02

Which of these numbers need to go up to v1.93? And I'll ask this question while I'm at it.....where is this pdf file that tells me how to upgrade the firmware?
Tim Allison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2008, 04:46 PM   #8
Telecam Films
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 723
Tim,

You have the old firmware. In order to upgrade your cam, you first need to download the new firmware here:

ftp://storage@ftp.sony.com/XDCAM%20-...%20-%20AT1.10/

Then, follow the instructions in the docs to upgrade. It's pretty straight forward.

Best,
__________________
Thierry Humeau, DoP
TÚlÚcam Films
www.telecamfilms.com
Thierry Humeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2008, 05:05 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Starkville, MS
Posts: 96
Thierry,

As usual, you are very helpful. I hate to be a pest on this, but when I click on the link you provided, it asks me for a password. Is there some place I need to go register and establish this password?
Tim Allison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2008, 05:25 PM   #10
Telecam Films
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 723
Try this

ftp://storage@ftp.sony.com/XDCAM%20-...%20-%20AT1.10/
__________________
Thierry Humeau, DoP
TÚlÚcam Films
www.telecamfilms.com
Thierry Humeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2008, 10:39 AM   #11
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitchell Skurnik View Post
Interesting note:
How to Upgrade Camcorder Software.pdf
"Format a Memory Stick (minimum size is 8M up to 2GB) in the camcorder"

I guess cards greater than 128mb now work with the 355 :)
That was always the case with the F355.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2008, 04:30 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Starkville, MS
Posts: 96
I'm in the process of updating my firmware. First off, my COPRO setting says 2.19, and the directions say it should read at 2.18. Is this a problem?

Finally, I get to Step #20....the last step. It says:

"Now got to the menus and look at DIAGNOSIS menu D00. While pressing the menu knob (Rotary Encoder) and press the Zeba Button so the light is lit, and then turn the menu switch ON and OFF and back ON and a new menu will appear "Service."

This isn't happening. No new menu appears. I can't find this SERVICE menu anywhere.

Suggestions?
Tim Allison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2008, 08:12 PM   #13
Telecam Films
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 723
Tim,

Before pressing the Zebra button, you want to make sure its light is OFF. Also, set your white balance swith to preset. And make sure that you are still pushing down on the rotary encoder and on the Zebra button before you flip the menu switch on/off. So the proper steps are as follows:

- Start with Zebra light OFF and white balance switch to PRESET
- Turn on "advance menu" and set it to Diagnosis, Page D00.
- Press rotary encoder and hold
- Press Zebra button and hold
- Flip menu swith OFF/ON

It should work.
__________________
Thierry Humeau, DoP
TÚlÚcam Films
www.telecamfilms.com
Thierry Humeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2008, 07:44 AM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenija
Posts: 8
Benifits of v1.93

Can anybody who already upgrade F355 to new v 1.93 explain what are the befits of new SW. Can we use this SW also to upgrade F335?

Thanks

Matjaz
Matjaz Fajdiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2008, 08:17 PM   #15
Telecam Films
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 723
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matjaz Fajdiga View Post
Can anybody who already upgrade F355 to new v 1.93 explain what are the befits of new SW. Can we use this SW also to upgrade F335?

Thanks

Matjaz
The two main reasons for updating a 335/355 camera to firmware v. 1.93 are:

- More reliable composite output in live shots situations when feeding through long cable runs or poorly terminated lines. This firmware had a new function that allows disabling the "power save" feature on the composite output.

- User/Scene files upward and downward compatibility with F330/F350 cameras.

Thierry.
__________________
Thierry Humeau, DoP
TÚlÚcam Films
www.telecamfilms.com
Thierry Humeau is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network