strange problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts
Sony PDW-F800, PDW-700, PDW-850, PXW-X500 (XDCAM HD) and PMW-400, PMW-320 (XDCAM EX).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 4th, 2008, 05:59 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 4
strange problem

FCP 6 (latest everything)

Footage shot on XCDAM-HD, 1080 60i

Sequence settings set to same settings as footage, render control set to use Prores HQ for rendering.

I have a few Motion titles that play fine in Motion, and they preview fine in FCP.

BUT... when rendering the files, I get flashes of some of the elements from the motion clips.

The ONLY way I've been able to get rid of the flashes is to change the entire sequence to dvcpro HD and re-render the entire thing. BUT.. that's obviously not the best option.

Anyone else see this?
Mark Fassett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2008, 08:17 PM   #2
Telecam Films
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 723
Mark,

I would try a "factory reset" (from the service menu) or an "all reset". Sounds like the gremlins found their way into your cam.

Thierry.
__________________
Thierry Humeau, DoP
TÚlÚcam Films
www.telecamfilms.com
Thierry Humeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2008, 03:07 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 103
make sure u have FCP 6.0.2 and XDCAM MAC Transfer 2.5.1 installed

then in FCP sequence settings:

change the render settings
"same as sequence codec" to "apple prores (XDCAM, HDV only)
also make sure to check these settings:
"always render in RGB"
"motion filter = best"
"render = best quality"

then try render your sequence again.
is it still bad?
Hornady Setiawan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 01:43 AM   #4
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 4
Thanks... will try that. Pretty sure "allow yuv" was set, maybe that is why....
Mark Fassett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 02:39 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
But you don't want to work in RGB as most video codecs are YUV. A camera reset isn't going to help this is an FCP issue. You might want to trash your FCP preferences as well.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:32 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network