Focus Enhancements FS 4 Pro Hd and F350? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts
Sony PDW-F800, PDW-700, PDW-850, PXW-X500 (XDCAM HD) and PMW-400, PMW-320 (XDCAM EX).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 26th, 2008, 08:39 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 109
Focus Enhancements FS 4 Pro Hd and F350?

I'm waiting for a client to drop off a couple of Firestores and hard drives and then I'm picking up a F350 to go out of town for 4 days to shoot some interviews and b roll. They want us to shoot SD 16 x 9 to the XD cam disc and simultaneously record to the FS-4. So I was wondering if there were any gotcha's or things to watch out for that I should know about. I'll be backing up to some small hard drives as well and can take a macbook pro with final cut 6 or a Toshiba with Premiere Pro 2, any advantages with either?

Thanks for your help

Mark
Mark Bolding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2008, 09:20 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
You'll need to put the firewire port in AV/C mode. It's in the menus.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2008, 09:57 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 109
Thanks Greg,
The guy I just picked up the camera from had never done this and he put it in FAM mode. I appreciate your quick reply.

Mark
Mark Bolding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2008, 05:56 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 425
What's the reason for using the FS4? - is it just so they can get quicker access to the footage? (or don't have an XDCAM reader) I have an FS3 that I used to use on my 570 but there seems little point using it these days apart from maybe longer record times depending on the size of the HDD used...
Paul Gale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2008, 09:38 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 109
DV raw or AVI 1 or AVI 2 ?

Hey There Paul,
We are shooting in New York and Chicago the next 3 days and our producer will be taking the hard drives and XD Cam discs back to N. Carolina with her where she does not have access to an XD Cam deck. I think the best thing would be to take the files off of the XD Cam each night and download them to the hard drives but I'm just following orders from headquarters. Did I mention I'm just the audio guy on this fiasco with a Mac Book Pro and a little curiosity. My question now is what file type to record to the firestore- DV raw, AVI 1 or AVI 2; as I recall the default is AVI 2 but I'd like to know what is the best format for Final Cut.

Thanks

Mark
Mark Bolding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2008, 10:01 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 109
I know this will sound like the typical newbie question but what software do I need to download from Sony to transfer and convert the files into my mac? Is it XD cam clip browser and or file transfer? I'm not seeing anything specific to the 350 on sony's site.

Thanks

Mark
Mark Bolding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2008, 01:21 AM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Bolding View Post
I know this will sound like the typical newbie question but what software do I need to download from Sony to transfer and convert the files into my mac? Is it XD cam clip browser and or file transfer? I'm not seeing anything specific to the 350 on sony's site.
You need the Sony XDCAM Transfer Tool. But you also need to have FCP 5.1.4 or later to have all the codecs for XDCAM.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2008, 02:20 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 425
Not sure about FCP as I've not used it much. My firestore is set to record AVI type 2 which works well with Premiere etc on a PC.

Obviously for the firestore files, you don't need any XDCAM transfer software etc. Also bear in mind that the firestore phyical files won't necessarily match the XDCAM files recorded to XDCAM disc i.e. with my older FS3, it creates 2Gb split files (unless the FS4 does anything different). The recorded timecodes should be OK though - although it's worth doing a test run to check.
Paul Gale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2008, 08:31 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 565
If the only idea about the FS is to hand out the footage to the client QUICKLY, IŽd think about a laptop and a USB drive for copying the files on location.

?

ULI
Uli Mors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 08:04 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 109
Thanks Guys for all your help. The first day we did use the firestore in AVI2 as Paul suggested but the client and I both downloaded the file transfer the previous night. We bought a 500 gig Lacie with all the flavors of input and the transfer went off without a hitch so she never even looked at the firestore she had ordered. I did look at the firestore on the flight home and it did work but as we all know it was an unnecessary expense not to mention potentially disastrous if we blew out the firewire port on the camera. After the first day we stopped using it and all went smoothly.
Thanks again
Mark
Mark Bolding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2008, 02:33 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 663
Does the FS4 HD work with the 350 in HD mode 35vbr?
__________________
software engineer
Jad Meouchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2008, 09:29 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 109
Hey there Jad,
I don't think it matters what format you record in camera; the firewire or ilink as sony likes to call it will only output standard def. DV. I'm basing this on what I read on page 51 of the F350 operations manual that I downloaded from Sony. On our recent shoot we just used standard def (I know I know don't get me started) in camera and the FS4 worked just fine once I got all the settings correct with a little help from my DVinfo friends.
Mark
Mark Bolding is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:32 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network