XDCAM HD - downconverting to Sd-SDI while recording HD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts
Sony PDW-F800, PDW-700, PDW-850, PXW-X500 (XDCAM HD) and PMW-400, PMW-320 (XDCAM EX).

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 10th, 2009, 06:55 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 14
XDCAM HD - downconverting to Sd-SDI while recording HD

Hi,

I'm looking for information, whether XDCAM HD cameras are capable of recording the 35Mb while outputting downconverted signal through SDI?

I know that EX is capable of doing so.
Adam Plywaczewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2009, 04:06 PM   #2
Telecam Films
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 723
Yes, the PDW-F355, PDW-700 and PDW-F800 can downconvert live to SDI. The PDW-F350 does not have a SDI output, only HD-SDI.

Thierry.
__________________
Thierry Humeau, DoP
TÚlÚcam Films
www.telecamfilms.com
Thierry Humeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2009, 03:33 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Australia
Posts: 373
The Sony EX3 is able to send SD SDI out of the camera I use this feature often recording SD to the NanoFlash while the camera records HD to SxS cards.
Lance Librandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2009, 03:59 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 14
Thanks for response.After playing a bit with our EX-1 SD-SDi output I found that it outputs all information from the viewfinder. While it's ok when using SDI for monitoring, it's not really desirable when using it for, say, live production.

Do the HDCAM HD cameras have it similiar? Or is there a way to disable SD-SDI output with informations overlayed on video, leaving "pure" video on output and information on-screen?
Adam Plywaczewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2009, 05:56 AM   #5
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,587
Adam,

You can turn off the overlay displays on the EX1 and EX3 so the SDI output is clean.

1. Press the menu button
2. Go to VIDEO SET
3. Change the YPbPr/SDI Out Display menu to OFF

This changes both the component output and the SDI output.

Doug
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2009, 07:59 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 14
thanks for the information, checked it, it works exactly the way described.
Adam Plywaczewski is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network