Firmware Here - Page 4 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts
Sony PDW-F800, PDW-700, PDW-850, PXW-X500 (XDCAM HD) and PMW-400, PMW-320 (XDCAM EX).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 16th, 2006, 02:24 PM   #46
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
just upgraded my 350 firmware. i followed the instructions and it completed in about 2 minutes. when i went into the diagnostics menu it was already upgraded from the memory stick upgrdade. is this possible?
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2006, 05:48 PM   #47
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Malvern UK
Posts: 1,931
Not with you Phil, please clarify?
Simon Wyndham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2006, 11:24 PM   #48
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Bloom
just upgraded my 350 firmware. i followed the instructions and it completed in about 2 minutes. when i went into the diagnostics menu it was already upgraded from the memory stick upgrdade. is this possible?
The full update requires about 20 minutes to complete. Sounds like you've only updated the first portion so that you now have a ROM version screen from which you can initiate the remainder of the process.

Make sure you are following the directions from the Word document attached to http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showpost....7&postcount=10. They are accurate.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2006, 04:08 AM   #49
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
i have followed the instructions completely. It's just when I turned the camera on and went to the d menu after the memory stick flashing the firmware already said 1.56 not 1.04 as the instructions say.

So I did the upgrade anyway, perhaps I already had the correct firmware on my camera, it's new so maybe it was done at the factory. I never actually checked, only had it a few days!!!
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2006, 04:14 AM   #50
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Malvern UK
Posts: 1,931
If it says 1.56, then you already have the updated firmware installed.
Simon Wyndham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2006, 10:51 AM   #51
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posts: 292
new owner

I just received a 350 and when I checked the Diagnosis menu the ROM package version showed 1.56 already loaded. Looks like the other viewing software is also the latest versions.
Bob Willis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2006, 07:32 PM   #52
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Willis
I just received a 350 and when I checked the Diagnosis menu the ROM package version showed 1.56 already loaded. Looks like the other viewing software is also the latest versions.
Welcome aboard, Bob. Yeah you definitely have the latest software as there was no ROM version screen to look at on the earlier version. Sometimes when a revision like this comes out, the dealers do the upgrades to all their inventory. Just make sure your printed manual corresponds to the latest version. I suspect it is since you say you have the latest versions of the software that accompany the camera.

So which lens did you get?

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2006, 09:04 AM   #53
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posts: 292
Greg, the manual must be new because it showed me where I could find the Diagnostic/ROM version.

I had a Fujinon S8.5X4.2BEVM that I was using on a Panasonic AJ-D700 DVCPro camera that I had modified with a Sony Bayonet mount. I use the 12 pin lens cable instead of the dual hot shoe connections and everything is working well. I have not had the chance to look at the combination on a HD monitor, but it looks good on my Sony PVM 14".

I also picked up a used Fujinon S20X6.4BERM that has a Sony dual hot shoe mount to use as a telephoto lens.

I have only had a few days with the camera but it is amazing. A whole new way of thinking about video. More like my Nikon Digital still camera. Hopefully Sony will improve all the viewing and managing software into a more cohesive software unit.
Bob Willis is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:01 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network