25 to 35 mps conversion at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts
Sony PDW-F800, PDW-700, PDW-850, PXW-X500 (XDCAM HD) and PMW-400, PMW-320 (XDCAM EX).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 4th, 2006, 09:24 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Victoria,BC
Posts: 124
25 to 35 mps conversion

Whoops! Shot a couple of discs in 25mps accidentally, and would like to render/covert them up to 35mps in FCpro, so that I can easily work with them in 35mps timeline.

When I place a 25 clip in the 35 timeline, then render, looks good. Then
I drag to bin, then drag back to timeline, it wants to see a render again!

Any way round this? I don't mind the disc space -- I just want to work with the files in the 35mps mode...

Thanks
BW
__________________
Bill Weaver
Across Borders Media / Media that Matters
Bill Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2006, 09:33 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
You'll have to drag all the 25mb media files into Compressor, make a preset to convert all those to 35, and just wait.

A very. Long. Time.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2006, 10:02 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Victoria,BC
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate Weaver
You'll have to drag all the 25mb media files into Compressor, make a preset to convert all those to 35, and just wait.
How does one set that up?

Other alternative is to put selects n a 35 timeline and render, then use as a bin. But curious about the Compressor route. I don;t see even where there's starting point for XDCam HD
__________________
Bill Weaver
Across Borders Media / Media that Matters
Bill Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2006, 10:15 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Download these:

http://homepage.mac.com/nweaver/.Pub...20Droplets.zip

Drop your original 25mbit files onto the appropriate droplet, and away you go.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2006, 10:48 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Victoria,BC
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate Weaver
Download these:

http://homepage.mac.com/nweaver/.Pub...20Droplets.zip

Drop your original 25mbit files onto the appropriate droplet, and away you go.

Thanks, Nate ---

But when I drop the file on the droplet, a little windw comes up, I hit submit, and nothing happens. What am I missing?
__________________
Bill Weaver
Across Borders Media / Media that Matters
Bill Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2006, 11:27 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Hmm, maybe there's a mismatch on our versions of Compressor. It's supposed to bring up Batch Monitor at that point, and then dump the new files in the same folder as the old files.

Ok, let's try something different:

http://homepage.mac.com/nweaver/.Pub...sorPresets.zip

Unzip, and put the 3 resulting files in username/Library/Application Support/Compressor

Now when you open Compressor you'll have these 3 new presets under "Custom" (not "Apple").

Drag all your 25mbit media into the batch window, choose the appropriate preset for each, and then submit.

If Batch Monitor doesn't come up at this time, then your Compressor install is broken and you need to reinstall it.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2006, 12:51 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Victoria,BC
Posts: 124
Thanks, Mr. W...

I'll give it a try....



Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate Weaver
Hmm, maybe there's a mismatch on our versions of Compressor. It's supposed to bring up Batch Monitor at that point, and then dump the new files in the same folder as the old files.

Ok, let's try something different:

http://homepage.mac.com/nweaver/.Pub...sorPresets.zip

Unzip, and put the 3 resulting files in username/Library/Application Support/Compressor

Now when you open Compressor you'll have these 3 new presets under "Custom" (not "Apple").

Drag all your 25mbit media into the batch window, choose the appropriate preset for each, and then submit.

If Batch Monitor doesn't come up at this time, then your Compressor install is broken and you need to reinstall it.
__________________
Bill Weaver
Across Borders Media / Media that Matters
Bill Weaver is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:43 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network