Kona LH Card With HD XDCAM - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts
Sony PDW-F800, PDW-700, PDW-850, PXW-X500 (XDCAM HD) and PMW-400, PMW-320 (XDCAM EX).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 8th, 2007, 03:06 PM   #16
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 173
Are there any special settings to get the best performace
for 35 Mb/sec 1080 24p footage in FCP with the Kona LHe?

I have tried the video playback setting: "Kona 1080psf 23.98 8bit"
and can see still frames but is does not play motion?

I spoke to AJA tech support today and they said HD XDCAM is not
supported. Am I missing something?
Rob Stiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2007, 04:40 PM   #17
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Try 1080i60 (or i30, whatever it may be called). The preset you're using might be trying to send out a PsF analog signal, which your monitor might not be liking.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 01:57 PM   #18
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
Actually I am having problems myself. new mac pro and kona lhe card with blackmagic hdlink. when I play back stuff in 1080 i get spinning wheel and only a few seconds of play...i have some setting wrong somewhere...

edit: easy setup fixed it...dont know what i did wrong
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net

Last edited by Phil Bloom; January 9th, 2007 at 04:48 PM.
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2007, 05:19 PM   #19
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
Am having a problem that I could do with some help on.

When playing back xdcam cam stuff in the timeline or the viewer the spinning wheel starts it then plays for a couple of seconds then freezes. Do I have some settings wrong?

Final cut says my hard drives arent fast enough. i am using my mac pro's internal one at the moment. Is this no good? What drives are people using? Is 7200 rpm firewire 400 fast enough or does it need to be firewire 800?

Phil
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2007, 06:42 PM   #20
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Bloom
When playing back xdcam cam stuff in the timeline or the viewer the spinning wheel starts it then plays for a couple of seconds then freezes. Do I have some settings wrong?
Typical behavior if your drives aren't fast enough is not to spin the pinwheel...but to simply drop frames. Playback would be sluggish, but the rainbow wheel would never show.

If the wheel IS showing up, that typically means FCP is waiting on some other aspect of the system. Either drive access (do you have enough RAM? is the virtual memory subsytem paging out while you're attempting to play video?), or some other system gremlin.

In short, 5400 or 7200 drives, either FW400 or 800, should be plenty fast for NATIVE XDCAM HD playback. If you digitized via HD-SDI, that wold be another deal entirely. Do yourself a favor though and don't digitize to the system drive. Often it works, but it can cause problems very easily as well.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2007, 06:55 PM   #21
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
the only reason I am using my second internal hard drive is my mac pros firewire is fried and I transfered captured stuff from a usb2 drive onto the internal. Apple are sending me a new mac pro any day now.

Interestingly i only get the dropped frames, sluggish speed when playing back a very speeded up shot, although fully rendered.
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2007, 08:31 PM   #22
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Bloom
the only reason I am using my second internal hard drive is my mac pros firewire is fried and I transfered captured stuff from a usb2 drive onto the internal. Apple are sending me a new mac pro any day now.
A second internal drive should be no problem, in fact likely a tiny bit faster than firewire and potentially a lot faster than USB2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Bloom
Interestingly i only get the dropped frames, sluggish speed when playing back a very speeded up shot, although fully rendered.
That's a really important clue. Where are your render files being rendered to? Make sure it's the same drive as your media...not the USER/Documents/Final Cut Pro Documents folder on your system drive.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2007, 11:27 AM   #23
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 173
KONA LHe XDCAM limitations

Kona LHe card on a MAC PRO tower does have a funky
requirement to only be in slot 3 plus OS X PCI utility program
must be used to modify PCI settings.

Nate, it seems there is realtime playback with HD XDCAM
footage using the Kona LHe card only if 100% rendered in the
timeline. Also, while the Kona is outputting to plasma the Apple's
monitor will not do realtime multicam playback or show
any realtime video playback.

So, my questions is, how about the blackmagic card?
Same limitations?
Rob Stiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2007, 11:31 AM   #24
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Stiff
Kona LHe card on a MAC PRO tower does have a funky
requirement to only be in slot 3 plus OS X PCI utility program
must be used to modify PCI settings.

Nate, it seems there is realtime playback with HD XDCAM
footage using the Kona LHe card only if 100% rendered in the
timeline. Also, while the Kona is outputting to plasma the Apple's
monitor will not do realtime multicam playback or show
any realtime video playback.

So, my questions is, how about the blackmagic card?
Same limitations?
you sure about that Rob?

My Kona Lhe has to be in slot 4, slot 3 isnt fast enought. Using the pci utility program it now is configured to run at 8x which is fastest speed.

My sequence settings are for xdcam hd 35mbs and i get realtime playback through my kona card and blackmagic hdlink on my 23" without rendering
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2007, 12:13 PM   #25
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 173
Ok, moved it to slot 4, seems a bit smoother.
How do I get the kona card to output and at
the same time playback or do multicam realtime
on my apple monitor? Any special settings?
Rob Stiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2007, 12:31 PM   #26
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
how are you outputting to the apple monitor from the kona card? are you using an hdlink?
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2007, 12:51 PM   #27
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 173
I have the Mac Pro Tower running on a 30 inch apple
display for FCP/desktop.

I have the Kona sending an SDI-HD signal to a plasma tv.

What settings will make FCP on my desktop play video
and multicam in realtime as I use the Kona realtime
output to the plasma?
Rob Stiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2007, 12:55 PM   #28
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
does your plasma have an hd sdi input? if not how you converting it.

let me clarify. You are seeing output on the plasma but not on your 30" apple as part of the fcp windows. Do you have mirror on desktop set on output settings?
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2007, 01:24 PM   #29
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 173
test footage

Panasonic 50 inch plasma with SDI-HD card.
It is a beautiful option!

Just tested Kona Card With:

720 30p footage test:
Using the 8 bit 720 59.97 output
Mirror Desktop is selected and ist has realtime
desktop video and multicam output while
Kona is outputting realtime to the plasma.

1080 24p HD XDCAM footage test:
Using the 8 bit 1080 23.97 output
Mirror Desktop is selected and is has full
desktop video and NO multicam output while
Kona is outputting realtime to the plasma.
Also, another problem, if the timeline is
NOT 100% rendered the video plays back
very distorted and stretched beyond recognition.
Even just a green line in the timeline above footage
will make play back distorted...

Nate did offer a good point about trying 1080 59.97 or 60.
There is no other setting for Kona output that I have found
that will play back to footage for HD XDCAM 1080 24p.

Are you able to get realtime multicam function while
outputting from the Kona at the same time?
Rob Stiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2007, 03:24 PM   #30
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
With a decklink card the output must be the same frame rate as the project. So a 720 30P project would only be output in real time using a decklink 30P setting.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network