Kona LH Card With HD XDCAM - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts
Sony PDW-F800, PDW-700, PDW-850, PXW-X500 (XDCAM HD) and PMW-400, PMW-320 (XDCAM EX).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 11th, 2007, 03:46 PM   #31
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 173
Maybe Kona can not fully support HD XDCAM 1080 24p footage?

Is anyone certain BlackMagic/Deck link on a MAC PRO TOWER
using HD XDCAM 1080 24p footage will output realtime footage
to a second monitor/plasma while playing back realtime on the
desktop and realtime multicam on the desktop?
Rob Stiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2007, 05:45 AM   #32
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
I really dont know about multicam. Never used it.

Here is a question. When using the Kona and a blackmagic hdlink playing the audio through line out of the computer, is the sound syncd to the desktop of the hdlink? There is a slight difference and critical music edits are tricky! Not sure which one to go for!
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2007, 05:47 AM   #33
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
I have answered my own question...its the output through the kona that is audio synced
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2007, 09:33 PM   #34
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 173
Before I buy a Black Magic Card:

Nate, one last time wanting to reconfirm if the BlackMagic HD Card on a MAC PRO TOWER using HD XDCAM 1080 24p footage will output realtime footage
to a second monitor/plasma while playing back realtime on the
desktop and realtime multicam on the desktop?
Rob Stiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2007, 12:25 AM   #35
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Yes, it does. I don't have a Mac Pro, just a dual 2.0 G5, but it would work.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2007, 11:51 AM   #36
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
I can confirm that you will get real-time on a Macpro with a BM card. I recommend at least 2 Gig of ram, preferably 4Gig.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2007, 02:33 PM   #37
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Boca Raton, Florida
Posts: 116
Kona LH installation

Hi:

Sorry to jump into your thread but I have a brand new Kona LH waiting to be installed in a Mac G5 dual and I have a newbie question regarding its coexistance with the Mac's AGP Ati Radeon graphics card. Simply put, can I leave the the Ati in the G5 to be used for Photoshop and similar software and install the Kona for, at the present time, FCP 5.1.2 video (JVC HD-250U) capture and an eventual additional composite monitor?
Thank you for your patience and assistance,
Ron
Ronald Wilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2007, 04:06 PM   #38
HD for Indies
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 87
cards

you leave the ATI in (assuming we are talking the original, single graphics card, not a second additional card) and add the Kona elsewhere. They serve entirely different functions.
__________________
Mike Curtis
HD For Indies - Hi Def Filmmaking & Post for
Independent Filmmakers
http://www.hdforindies.com
mike@hdforindies.com
Mike Curtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2007, 05:30 PM   #39
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Boca Raton, Florida
Posts: 116
Kona and Ati

Hi Mike:

Thank you for your reply and yes, I was referring to the single Ati Radeon AGP graphics card. The Kona manual seemed to imply that any other muli-media card should be removed to avoid conflict and I really didn't know if one would classifiy the AGP card as multimedia.

Thanks again for your reply, you saved me from further weekend angst,
Ron
Ronald Wilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2007, 09:35 PM   #40
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 173
Got the Blackmagic Card and it does the realtime 23.98P playback.
Of course if not fully rendered (even with a green line in the timeline) the quality of playback is poor.

When doing a multicam edit I can't seem to get realtime playback
of the selected angles out of the blackmagic card.

Is there some special settings to do this?
Rob Stiff is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:40 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network