is my f350 blowing my computer's firewire? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts
Sony PDW-F800, PDW-700, PDW-850, PXW-X500 (XDCAM HD) and PMW-400, PMW-320 (XDCAM EX).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 17th, 2007, 02:38 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
is my f350 blowing my computer's firewire?

this is getting ridiculous.

First my macbook pro firewire stopped working.

Then my imac firewire stopped working.

Then on the day I got it my mac pro firewire stopped working. Apple sent a replacement. FIrewire worked fine until I plugged my f350 in. Now it's dead too! four mac's all fried!

Can my F350 really be blowing my mac's firewire boards?

I did think that it must be my Western Digital my book's that were doing it, but I have plugged them into the firewire just the usb 2.

Any ideas. Is this possible? Could my hot swapping be doing this?
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 02:58 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
Are you sure it's not the cable? Some of the cheaper cables can short the power and data pins as you plug them in. I've seen quite a few firewire devices cooked by a dodgy cable. It's not really a good idea to hot swap firewire as the power and data pins are next to each other and any slop in the connector can lead to a disaster.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 03:03 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
it's possible. but it is a new belkin firewire cable. without having a row of mac's and going through the different options it's hard to say. All i know is it's the only piece of equipment that i have plugged into the firewire on this new mac.

edit:

I think I have just worked out the problem.

my cat!

She loves cables and I try to keep her out of the edit suite but she sometimes sneaks in. The cable I used has a small nick in it. I am sure power is leaking into the rest of the cable.

It is the only thing I can think of!
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2007, 01:54 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
I'de want to get the camera checked as firewire ports are very expensive to get repaired/replaced on laptops, decks and other camcorders.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2007, 02:27 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 321
I only plug and upplug with the power off.
__________________
Regards
Steve
Steve Cahill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2007, 02:40 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
both the computer and camera powered off

am inclined to buy 6pin to 4pin lead and a 4 pin to 6 pin adaptor to avoid power getting to the computer/ camera.
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2007, 11:20 PM   #7
2nd Unit TV
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 509
We've been editing for 5 months with the F350 and the MacBook Pro with no problems at all. Make sure your camera's off before you plug in the firewire and then go camera on. A 6 to 6 pin is what we use in the field, on set and in the editing bay and we've had zero problems.
Jonathan Ames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2007, 05:44 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan Ames
We've been editing for 5 months with the F350 and the MacBook Pro with no problems at all. Make sure your camera's off before you plug in the firewire and then go camera on. A 6 to 6 pin is what we use in the field, on set and in the editing bay and we've had zero problems.
Thanks Jonathan,

I am certain it was the cable.

It you ever cast a cat for your series, keep it away from the firewire cables!
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2007, 09:15 AM   #9
2nd Unit TV
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 509
We introduced a dog, Dr. Carlos' real life canine companion, and he stole the scene. Cats I don't think so.
Jonathan Ames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2007, 11:21 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northampton, England
Posts: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Bloom
both the computer and camera powered off

am inclined to buy 6pin to 4pin lead and a 4 pin to 6 pin adaptor to avoid power getting to the computer/ camera.
I know there are issues with Sony Z1s & FX1s killing computer firewire ports.

On one of those threads somewhere (can't find it now) someone mentioned one of these: http://www.ivojo.co.uk/kramer-pt-1fw.htm
__________________
Alex
Alex Leith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2007, 03:42 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 190
When I had long conversations with a Sony tech while they were working on my 330, he said they get many blown firewire ports in daily. He recommended a null adaptor if you use 6-pin to 6-pin and don't actually need the power. I've been doing that for six months without having to shut anything down with no problems.

How can a Z1 blow out a firewire port since the 4-pin doesn't have power running through it?
John Godwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2007, 03:58 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
where can i get a null adaptor from. What is it called officially?
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2007, 04:00 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northampton, England
Posts: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Godwin
How can a Z1 blow out a firewire port since the 4-pin doesn't have power running through it?
Not entirely certain, but it's fairly well documented. Something to do with static, bad grounding, and the design of the firewire circuitary at the Z1's end.
__________________
Alex
Alex Leith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2007, 04:58 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 190
This is what I'm using. Someone else may have better information or another source, but this has worked well for me so far.

http://www.fwdepot.com/

2 x FireWire 1394a cable - 8 inch port Isolator (CFE-66-8-NP) = $33.90USD
------------------------------------------------------
Sub-Total: $33.90USD
: $21.88USD
Total: $55.78USD

=======================

On the Z1 - I have a Z1 and an FX1 and have used them on 6 or 7 computers with no problems yet. I'm pc based - I don't know if that's the difference.
John Godwin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:15 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network