No SD-SDI? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts
Sony PDW-F800, PDW-700, PDW-850, PXW-X500 (XDCAM HD) and PMW-400, PMW-320 (XDCAM EX).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 19th, 2007, 03:52 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 475
No SD-SDI?

Hi there. Just found out that the SDI connection on the F350 is a HD-SDI only, so no SD/HD switchable, like my XL-H1 for example. Am I right or am I overlooking something?
Vincent Rozenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2007, 04:19 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
If you run in DVCAM mode, you'll get SD-SDI output. IOW, you can't acquire in HD and spit it out the SDI pipe as SD.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2007, 04:34 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 475
Hmm, strange. I was comparing the PDW 530 with my F350 today. We tried to hook up both to a sony LCD monitor with SD SDI inputs for A/B switching. To do a fair test I had put my settings to DVCAM mode, but I couldn't get a SD SDI signal out of the camera.

So Greg, are you definitely sure about this? If so, can you point me in the right direction how to do this, maybe a setting in the menu or something, 'cause out of the box it doesn't work like that.. Thanks in advance!
Vincent Rozenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2007, 04:43 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Wow, I was certain that it could. Let me check on that with the Sony folks.

-gb-

EDIT Just checked the ops manual. Page 51 spells it out and I was clearly mistaken Vincent. It only outputs HDSDI and will do so while recording or paused in DVCAM mode, but will NOT output any signal when playing back material recorded in DVCAM. Mea Culpa!
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2007, 02:32 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 24
But how to hand some material to a broadcaster who doesn't have any XDCAM HD equipment? When I buy the PDW-F350, all my future recordings will be in HD, because I need them for my own projects. But sometimes I need to give some material to a broadcaster who works in PAL 4:3 or 16:9. I think the only thing they can do for me is to provide a SD-SDI input from their IMX oder Digibeta machines. So it would be very good to have a function, which gives an anamorphotic 16:9 or left-right-cropped 4:3 signal to a SD-SDI output.

If this solution doesn't exist, I need to copy the material on the Avid and play it out to my old Betacam SP deck...

Matthias
Matthias Koehler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2007, 04:55 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 475
@ Grag: thanks for searching. To me this seems to be a bit of a shame. Since my low budget XL-H1 does provide this..

@ Matthias: There are a couple of companies with HD SDI to SD SDI converters, like Miranda: www.miranda.com
Vincent Rozenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2007, 10:58 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA usa
Posts: 148
The studio deck (PDW-F70) has concurrent HD-SDI and SD-SDI outputs, and you can configure your SD for letterbox, squeeze etc. The deck of course also has RS-422 control.

At some point there is a line drawn between camcorders and decks -- and a camera cannot be expected to have the full functionality of a deck.

Keith
Keith Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2007, 11:55 AM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith Rollinson
At some point there is a line drawn between camcorders and decks -- and a camera cannot be expected to have the full functionality of a deck.
Of course You are completely right, but I am looking for a solution without the need to buy a deck, because I don't need it for my own workflow. Perhaps I can force the broadcasters to buy one of it... :-)

Matthias
Matthias Koehler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2007, 12:55 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 475
In my situation I'm not talking about a post situation but a live situation. I still shoot a lot of times in DV mode, so beside composite there is no way out then.

Last edited by Vincent Rozenberg; February 20th, 2007 at 05:19 PM.
Vincent Rozenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2007, 02:00 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 565
hmmm... its only a workaround, but you can transfer any HD clips via firewire (not FAM mode) as a DV stream...

Or downkonvert the clips in your NLE , but this will take longer, giving you more conversion choices also...

ULI
Uli Mors is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:29 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network