Can I send XDCAM HD MXF files on a HD? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts
Sony PDW-F800, PDW-700, PDW-850, PXW-X500 (XDCAM HD) and PMW-400, PMW-320 (XDCAM EX).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 5th, 2007, 02:22 PM   #1
Telecam Films
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 723
Can I send XDCAM HD MXF files on a HD?

Hi,

I am shooting an interview for a client in Canada that does not have a XDCAM HD deck but uses FCPro. Can I copy the hires files from the XDCAM HD disc "Clip" directory onto a HD and send them the HD? Will they be able to import those in FCP?

Thanks.

Thierry.
__________________
Thierry Humeau, DoP
TÚlÚcam Films
www.telecamfilms.com
Thierry Humeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2007, 03:35 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Innsbruck, Austria
Posts: 134
I don┤t see why not. I just recently copied the MXF data from my XDCAM HD onto an external hard drive, took it with me and imported it into Avid. I don┤t know how FCP handles this but I guess it would convert the MXF files into FCP files just as it does when directly ingesting the files from the camera.

Kick me if I┤m wrong:-)
Emanuel Altenburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2007, 04:14 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thierry Humeau View Post
Can I copy the hires files from the XDCAM HD disc "Clip" directory onto a HD and send them the HD? Will they be able to import those in FCP?
Yes Thierry, that's exactly how I deliver to one of the producers here locally. He hands me a Maxtor One Touch and I grab all 4 directories from the disc and copy them to a folder on the drive labeled Disc 1, Disc 2, etc.

He can then use XDCAM Transfer to import the proxies and hi res files as if he had the camera or deck sitting there.

Your other option if you have time, is to use XDCAM Transfer to select all the clips and batch import them to a folder on the hard drive. At that point, the client will have ready to edit QT files as long as they have FCP 5.1.2 or later in order to have all the necessary XDCAM codecs.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2007, 06:05 PM   #4
Telecam Films
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 723
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Boston View Post
Yes Thierry, that's exactly how I deliver to one of the producers here locally. He hands me a Maxtor One Touch and I grab all 4 directories from the disc and copy them to a folder on the drive labeled Disc 1, Disc 2, etc.

He can then use XDCAM Transfer to import the proxies and hi res files as if he had the camera or deck sitting there.

Your other option if you have time, is to use XDCAM Transfer to select all the clips and batch import them to a folder on the hard drive. At that point, the client will have ready to edit QT files as long as they have FCP 5.1.2 or later in order to have all the necessary XDCAM codecs.

-gb-
Ok, Thanks guys. I dont' use FTP so I was not sure about this. By the way, an other quicky on FTP... After you have edited a XDCAM HD project with FCP and deleted the media, Is there an easy way to batch re-import the XDCAM HD clips used in the sequence? Do you have to use the XDCAM transfer tool assuming you have not delete the clip list for this project in the transfer tool? If the clip list was delete in the Transfer tool what do you do?

Thanks.

Thierry.
__________________
Thierry Humeau, DoP
TÚlÚcam Films
www.telecamfilms.com
Thierry Humeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2007, 07:11 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 645
not at this time with the current version of XDCAM Transfer ... there is no way to import any externally generated shot list.

whilst we expect promising new features to be delivered at NAB, there are no firm guarantees that this will be one of them, at this time of year we are in the cruel hands of fate ... as always, ain't nobody syaing nothing immediately pre NAB.
Andy Mees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2007, 08:03 AM   #6
Telecam Films
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 723
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Mees View Post
not at this time with the current version of XDCAM Transfer ... there is no way to import any externally generated shot list.

whilst we expect promising new features to be delivered at NAB, there are no firm guarantees that this will be one of them, at this time of year we are in the cruel hands of fate ... as always, ain't nobody syaing nothing immediately pre NAB.
So you mean that even if you still have the list of imported clips in the XDCAM Transfer Tool but no media, you would need to recapture the clips from the list and manually re-edit them into your sequence?

Thierry.
__________________
Thierry Humeau, DoP
TÚlÚcam Films
www.telecamfilms.com
Thierry Humeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2007, 10:04 AM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thierry Humeau View Post
So you mean that even if you still have the list of imported clips in the XDCAM Transfer Tool but no media, you would need to recapture the clips from the list and manually re-edit them into your sequence?

Thierry.
You would have to manually re-capture the media, keeping track of all clips you need.

Assuming you did this correctly, re-connecting those clips would be easy.

FCP's online re-capture capability is only aware of it's own batch capture tool, so XDCAM re-capture is not in the cards at the moment. Praying FCP6 @NAB takes care of this.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:52 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network