HDy? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts
Sony PDW-F800, PDW-700, PDW-850, PXW-X500 (XDCAM HD) and PMW-400, PMW-320 (XDCAM EX).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 18th, 2007, 05:27 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 179
HDy?

I notice that the Video Out connecter on the F350 can be set to "HDy" in the menu. Can some explain what this is?

Thanks, Peter
Peter Newsom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2007, 11:09 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Crestline, California
Posts: 351
HDy is....

HDy is the luminance channel of an analog component signal, presumable 1440 x 1080. Basically it's black and white hi-def.

Tip
Tip McPartland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2007, 11:58 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Tip is right. Sony makes a b/w HD monitor that mounts to the back of the camera handle (after you buy the mount) for EFP. You would normally feed that monitor with an HD luminance only signal.

I've also used the composite signal fed to a standard def Sony field monitor and it still looks pretty sweet.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2007, 07:49 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 179
Thanks, I too have been using my old Sony 8020 and the footage looks great on it. One of the advantages of recording in HD even though I feed in SD is that I can configure the aspect ratio to 4/3 on playback to check my footage at home. Also if I do need a monitor on location for a sit down, I can still use my old one. Quite hand really. Really do need to get a new monitor.

One thing I am not clear about, is the HDSDI. There appears to be no composite HD out, is there such a thing? Currently it is not possible to do remote feeds in HD from the sports arenas that I shoot in, but in the future when it arrives, I sure hope it is HDSDI that they want.

Peter
Peter Newsom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2007, 07:55 AM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Newsom View Post
One thing I am not clear about, is the HDSDI. There appears to be no composite HD out, is there such a thing? Currently it is not possible to do remote feeds in HD from the sports arenas that I shoot in, but in the future when it arrives, I sure hope it is HDSDI that they want.
No composite HD out. There is no such animal. There is component HD out, but that comes with the F330 in place of HDSDI. I suspect that in the future, the feed in HD will be done via HDSDI.

Fiber optic is another 'pipe' for transporting high bandwidth HD and some arenas are being wired with fiber in place of cable. But don't worry, there are already converters to take HDSDI and turn it into a fiber optic signal.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2007, 08:09 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 179
Did I not read somewhere that you could get an ethernet card for the camera, or would that be a different thing. Seems to me that just sending the clips down at 18, 25, or 35mbs in FAM would be the most efficient way to go.
Peter Newsom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2007, 10:49 AM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Newsom View Post
Did I not read somewhere that you could get an ethernet card for the camera, or would that be a different thing. Seems to me that just sending the clips down at 18, 25, or 35mbs in FAM would be the most efficient way to go.
The ethernet option was for the SD models which were aimed squarely at the broadcast market. This was intended to facilitate uploading material from the field to FTP servers at the bureau. Nothing like carrying around a camera with its own IP address. (grin)

The ethernet route wasn't getting much use so they didn't implement it in the HD cameras. Besides, for local file transfer, FW400 is faster anyway.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2007, 02:59 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 565
You can get Ethernet on the decks (F70) to setup a network based workflow.

ULI
Uli Mors is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:02 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network