FCP cannot re-import an XDCAM export.. - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts
Sony PDW-F800, PDW-700, PDW-850, PXW-X500 (XDCAM HD) and PMW-400, PMW-320 (XDCAM EX).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 8th, 2007, 02:00 PM   #16
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Boston View Post
Harley,

This is the response I got from my technical contact at Sony America HQ.



So I would make sure that your decks (and camera/s) are all at firmware revision 1.6 to eliminate that as a cause.

regards,

-gb-
Duuuuuude.

That's great. Let me check right now.

It's makes total sense about the error when it hits a "splice point". One thing I forgot to mention was that the transfer stops at THE SAME POINT every time..which totally falls in line with the info you provided.

I will post my results. Thanks Greg, top notch stuff.
Harley Flanagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2007, 02:13 PM   #17
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,076
The export function I was complaining about on the first page has the same behavior, where it exports to a given point, and stops there, every time. The re-render that Andy and I discussed solves this problem.

I wonder if the software didn't put something on the disk in the writing process that freaks it out, and now can't read it. I wonder if you had the same project written to disk twice, if you could import the second one, when the first froze at the same spot every time. (This would be the equivalent of the re-render Andy and I spoke of in the writing process.)

Sorry to threadcrap with my complaints about a different process, but I suspect the answers are similar.
Mike Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2007, 04:06 PM   #18
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harley Flanagan View Post
Duuuuuude.

That's great. Let me check right now.

It's makes total sense about the error when it hits a "splice point". One thing I forgot to mention was that the transfer stops at THE SAME POINT every time..which totally falls in line with the info you provided.

I will post my results. Thanks Greg, top notch stuff.

Ugghh..

No luck. In all fairness though, all I found was Firmware Version 1.59, not 1.6.

Did you mean 1.59?

Also, I wonder if the disk would need to be formatted under this firmware revision to work?
Harley Flanagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2007, 04:38 PM   #19
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harley Flanagan View Post
Ugghh..

No luck. In all fairness though, all I found was Firmware Version 1.59, not 1.6.

Did you mean 1.59?

Also, I wonder if the disk would need to be formatted under this firmware revision to work?
No, I meant 1.6 which is what I have on my camera. I don't have the deck. 1.6 specifically fixes this issue. My Sony America source also spoke to Japan about this and they seem confident that 1.6 will resolve the issue.

Go to https://servicesplus.us.sony.biz/sony-software.aspx

Do a search in model number field for PDW-F70 (if that's the deck you're using). There search will return 5 items. The second from the bottom is the 1.6 update and is just over 8 mb in size.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2007, 05:23 PM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Boston View Post
No, I meant 1.6 which is what I have on my camera. I don't have the deck. 1.6 specifically fixes this issue. My Sony America source also spoke to Japan about this and they seem confident that 1.6 will resolve the issue.

Go to https://servicesplus.us.sony.biz/sony-software.aspx

Do a search in model number field for PDW-F70 (if that's the deck you're using). There search will return 5 items. The second from the bottom is the 1.6 update and is just over 8 mb in size.

-gb-

It's working so far!

Never got beyond 3%...now I'm up to 75%
Harley Flanagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2007, 06:36 PM   #21
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harley Flanagan View Post
Never got beyond 3%...now I'm up to 75%
I'd call that progress! (grin)

Hope this puts the issue to bed. BTW, this affected not only FCP, but Avid as well.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2007, 01:18 AM   #22
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 645
good info Greg, explains a lot. thanks for passing it along. so this is (or seems likely to be) a firmware issue affecting both camera and deck (and is specific to 60i? i'm thinking probably not)

thanks.

hey Mike... no, sadly I don't get over to the US often. which is lucky for you guys, or you'd have me forever cadging beers and sofa space ;)
Andy Mees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2007, 01:41 AM   #23
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Mees View Post
good info Greg, explains a lot. thanks for passing it along.

Yeah but Harley didn't come back and post a 100%. The suspense is killing me. (hehe)

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2007, 02:51 AM   #24
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
1.6 fixes quite a few small bugs. It fixed the issue I had with auto iris on my canon lens.
Well done Greg!
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2007, 02:53 AM   #25
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alister Chapman View Post
Well done Greg!
Thanks! BTW, a major tornado outbreak may happen in the midwest next week according to one local forecaster.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2007, 09:51 AM   #26
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Boston View Post
Thanks! BTW, a major tornado outbreak may happen in the midwest next week according to one local forecaster.

-gb-
Greg..

You deserved the final word on this. Thanks for helping me out.

As of 7 o'clock on Friday, I imported 2 30 min shows to completion.

I'm going around the facility right now with my trusty memory stick upgrading all the decks.

Thanks again!

TTT
Harley Flanagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2007, 01:13 PM   #27
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harley Flanagan View Post
As of 7 o'clock on Friday, I imported 2 30 min shows to completion.
Awesome! And don't leave me hanging at 75% next time. (grin)

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony ENG / EFP Shoulder Mounts

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:58 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network