Awesome news for canon users - Page 10 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Sony Hard Drive and Memory Card Recorders

Sony Hard Drive and Memory Card Recorders
Including the HVR-MRC1K CF Card Recorder, HVR-DR60 Hard Disk Recorder and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 5th, 2008, 01:49 PM   #136
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tokoroa, New Zealand
Posts: 18
Exciting times for us tape users. Hopefully the units will be available here in NZ in the next few months. Will have to chase up the local supplier.
Ratu
__________________
Rugby is the winner at the end of
the day.
Tania Ratu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2008, 02:56 PM   #137
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan C. King View Post
Daan in the XH-A1's menu go "System Setup --> DV Control ON" then the recorder will not see the A1 as a computer
It was already 'On'.. Other suggestions ?
Daan van Bergen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2008, 07:55 PM   #138
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 532
I've got a MRC1K. Here's some unboxing photos via picasa:

Picasa Web Albums - Evan - Sony HVR-MRC1...
Evan C. King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2008, 07:56 PM   #139
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daan van Bergen View Post
It was already 'On'.. Other suggestions ?
I don't know other than I set my MRC1K to "Synchro" instead of follow and now I'm able to use the A1's record button to control the unit no problem.
Evan C. King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2008, 11:47 PM   #140
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 643
How do you keep recording to CF card while you're changing tapes?
Randy Panado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2008, 08:20 AM   #141
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan C. King View Post
I've got a MRC1K. Here's some unboxing photos via picasa:

Picasa Web Albums - Evan - Sony HVR-MRC1...
I like the idea of this unit but doesn't it seem a bit bulky and awkward mounted on the shoe like that? It just seems as thought it would completely take away any ergonics that your camera has.

I have an XLh1 and would like to mount it on the rear accesorry plate myself but am not sure exactly how to pull that off until I have one in hand. Regardless.....let us know how it goes. I just know that I personally would not want to mount that on my H1 at the accessory shoe as the weight distribution is already whack.

Peace.
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2008, 08:25 AM   #142
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan C. King View Post
I've got a MRC1K. Here's some unboxing photos via picasa:

Picasa Web Albums - Evan - Sony HVR-MRC1...
What's the workflow with Final Cut? Will the Sony plugin work for drag-n-drop, no-rendering-required m2t editing?
Chuck Fadely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2008, 01:07 PM   #143
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Fadely View Post
What's the workflow with Final Cut? Will the Sony plugin work for drag-n-drop, no-rendering-required m2t editing?
Yeah you just fire up fcp's log and transfer once you've installed sony's plugin and it's a very quick rewrap process to bring it in. I'm almost positive it's just rewrapping and not transcoding which is why it's so quick.
Evan C. King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2008, 01:16 PM   #144
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty Hudzik View Post
I like the idea of this unit but doesn't it seem a bit bulky and awkward mounted on the shoe like that? It just seems as thought it would completely take away any ergonics that your camera has.

I have an XLh1 and would like to mount it on the rear accesorry plate myself but am not sure exactly how to pull that off until I have one in hand. Regardless.....let us know how it goes. I just know that I personally would not want to mount that on my H1 at the accessory shoe as the weight distribution is already whack.

Peace.
Agreed. I just put in top of the camera to show everyone what it comes with but for now I'm just using a longer cable and chucking it in a pocket. I'm working on making a clip of some sort that I can hang it off the handgrip.

For your bracket the unit has a 1/4 20(I think) screw hole on the bottom so you just need some kind of "U" shaped bracket for the back of your XL and the other end can go underneath the mrc1k with the non-opening side touching the XLH1. Essentially what I'm picturing is the recording unit on it's side with the battery facing your right ear and the recorder's interface facing towards your outside right side since the mrc1 opens on the left side to put in CF cards in.

So if I were you I'd make the bracket with the the right side of recorder facing the back of the XLH1 so you can both put in cards and change batteries easily.
Evan C. King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2008, 10:11 AM   #145
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 532
For anyone wanting to know the exact process of making it work with the A1 here it is:

So record to card only this is my process:
- In the A1's menu so "System Setup ---> DVControl ON"
- Connect the firewire cable between the A1 and the MRC1K
- Turn on the MRC1K throw in your CF card (it won't let you get to the MRC1K's menu without a card in it) and go press the MENU button
- Now go "SETTING ----> CAMLINK SEL"
- Choose "SYNCHRO"
- Now on the A1 you should see a green box next to "DVCONTROL"
- Your now able to control the recording with the A1's record buttons and don't need to shoot tape at the same time

That's all there is to it. Once it's set once you don't need to do it again. Just connect the two and turn the MRC1K and you're ready to go.
I may to a little youtube vid about it or something.
Evan C. King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2008, 12:26 PM   #146
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan C. King View Post
For anyone wanting to know the exact process of making it work with the A1 here it is:

So record to card only this is my process:
- In the A1's menu so "System Setup ---> DVControl ON"
- Connect the firewire cable between the A1 and the MRC1K
- Turn on the MRC1K throw in your CF card (it won't let you get to the MRC1K's menu without a card in it) and go press the MENU button
- Now go "SETTING ----> CAMLINK SEL"
- Choose "SYNCHRO"
- Now on the A1 you should see a green box next to "DVCONTROL"
- Your now able to control the recording with the A1's record buttons and don't need to shoot tape at the same time

That's all there is to it. Once it's set once you don't need to do it again. Just connect the two and turn the MRC1K and you're ready to go.
I may to a little youtube vid about it or something.
Can you still record to CF while changing tapes? If so, how?

Thanks for all the info Evan, much appreciated.
Randy Panado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2008, 09:31 AM   #147
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan C. King View Post
For anyone wanting to know the exact process of making it work with the A1 here it is:

So record to card only this is my process:
- In the A1's menu so "System Setup ---> DVControl ON"
- Connect the firewire cable between the A1 and the MRC1K
...........
I may to a little youtube vid about it or something.
Heeee !
This works for me. Don't know what I did wrong.. Thanksss !

Rgds,
Daan
Daan van Bergen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2008, 09:44 AM   #148
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 9
BUT !!!!

Is my camera goes to sleep, I have the same problem :
The recorder is trying to connect the CF card (?)

I , again you have to choose for DV-PAL and the everything fires up again....

Maybe I have an other setting wrong ? Can anybody tell me the other settings in the menu ?

Rgds, Daan
Daan van Bergen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2008, 11:50 AM   #149
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan C. King View Post
I may to a little youtube vid about it or something.
He Evan,
Where can I find the YouTube vid ?

Thks, Daan
Daan van Bergen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2008, 05:36 PM   #150
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan C. King View Post
I've got a MRC1K. Here's some unboxing photos via picasa:

Picasa Web Albums - Evan - Sony HVR-MRC1...
Where did you get your unit from? I can only find a couple of dealers listing the item in the US and both of them are backordered or preorder. The best price I found so far is US $753.08
Hoy Quan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Sony Hard Drive and Memory Card Recorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:09 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network