Sony MRCK1 and Z5 question.... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Sony Hard Drive and Memory Card Recorders

Sony Hard Drive and Memory Card Recorders
Including the HVR-MRC1K CF Card Recorder, HVR-DR60 Hard Disk Recorder and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 18th, 2009, 08:16 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Perkasie, Pa
Posts: 12
Sony MRCK1 and Z5 question....

does anyone that owns this combination know if, when using the mrck1, the tape motor still runs if only recording to the CF?

the mrck1 manual says something about a REC/Stop sync without a tape inserted.....
Daniel Zenzel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 12:18 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 1,080
When using the MRC1 only, the tape motor is not running.

Stelios
__________________
My Blog: http://steliosc.blogspot.com
"I hope for nothing, I fear nothing, I am free" Nikos Kazantzakis
Stelios Christofides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2009, 10:00 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 395
Set the EXT REC CTRL option on the Z5 to EXT ONLY (page 88 of your Z5 manual) and the tape drive is completely out of the picture. All IN/OUT video is via the MRC-1K. You don't even see a tape warning when no tape is loaded.
Ken Grohs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2010, 06:52 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southend-On-Sea, England
Posts: 368
could I just ask a quick question about this memory card unit...

Does it create a new file every time you press stop? When I capture from tape I work best my scrubbing through 30 min chunks picking out what I want, I dont relish the idea of having hundreds of multiple files as I regularly start and stop recording.

Also I read something about the compact flash cards being FAT32 and having a 4gb (17min) limit... is this correct that a new file is created when it hits this time limit without a break?

Many thanks
David J. Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2010, 07:15 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Maidstone, Kent, UK
Posts: 190
Yes, it does record a new file for every start/stop of the button.

Like you, I prefer one big long chunk of rushes to scroll through - coming from a news background it's much quicker to zip through 30 mins of footage than fart about trying to rename the clips or just find the one you want.

On the other hand, in larger projects I suspect the discipline forced upon me by the "new clip" routine will be good for my soul...

PS Not sure about the 4GB 17 minute limit but I believe the cards are FAT32, yes.

Cheers
Dave
David Johns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2010, 12:22 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Yes, it starts a new file at about the 17-18 min mark but you can rejoin them seamlessly when you transfer using the Sony Utility that comes with the unit.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2010, 03:12 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southend-On-Sea, England
Posts: 368
Adam,

thanks for your answer, apologies for the multiple post.

As I am not so keen on having 100 5-10 second clips to scan through, but rather one long clip, is it therefore possible to stitch clips together that aren't the ones that reach the 4gb limit?
David J. Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2010, 03:33 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
No, the utility doesn't do this, because even though the timecode might be continuous if you are using REC RUN TC, the date and time data isn't. And if you use FREE RUN TC, as I do, then the TC data isn't continuous either.

Most people find it easier to go through individual clips, I think. I suppose you could place them all on a timeline and render out as one long clip, but then of course you'd probably suffer some generational loss, unless you transcode to something like Cineform first.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2010, 11:27 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 1,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Payne View Post
As I am not so keen on having 100 5-10 second clips to scan through, but rather one long clip, is it therefore possible to stitch clips together that aren't the ones that reach the 4gb limit?
David, I'm not sure how literal your example is but at least the MRC-1 will give you useable 5 sec clips. Even with DV tape I wonder how much of your taped 5 sec was usable. My newsy days ended with Beta-SP which needed at least 7 secs tape to give the editor enough to properly stabilise.

And of course you'll need a 32Gb CF card to fit in even 100 5 sec files!
Philip Howells is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Sony Hard Drive and Memory Card Recorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:58 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network