HVR-MRC1 Playback at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Sony Hard Drive and Memory Card Recorders

Sony Hard Drive and Memory Card Recorders
Including the HVR-MRC1K CF Card Recorder, HVR-DR60 Hard Disk Recorder and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 21st, 2009, 09:17 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colchester Essex
Posts: 13
HVR-MRC1 Playback

Hi Everyone, would be grateful for anyones steer/help with the following:-

Santa called early this year and I'm now the proud owner of a MRC1 recorder to compliment my Sony Z5E. The manual is not perhaps as enlightening as it could be but I'm up and running with it and so far very pleased with the results (and the SanDisk Extreme III 16Gb Card).

Whilst I can copy files off to PC to view/edit I had hoped that I would be able to review clips during the shoot 'on camera'. Unfortunately just can't get this to happen. Unit is connected to the back of the Z5 as normal yet when I press it's (i.e the MRC1's) Play button nothing is displayed on the cameras monitor. Am sure it should work, can after all review shots from tape in this way, and was one of the benefits I'd envisaged when buying the unit.

It may of course just be a setup issue, but would welcome help from anyone in the know about this.

Many thanks

Lionel
Lionel Bloomfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2009, 12:21 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Yeah, the manual explains everything except the basics: your Z5 must be in VCR mode.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2009, 12:34 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colchester Essex
Posts: 13
Hi Adam

Yes had tried that previously also but it didn't seem to make any difference, unfortunately.

I know they say the MRC1 can sometimes not be recognised, but given it was recording ok would assume it would play back ok also when switched to VCR mode.

I wondered if there were any other settings you had to make or whether you had to switch the MRC1 & Z5 on in any particular order ?
Lionel Bloomfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2009, 01:01 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
No, nothing special. Playback works fine on mine. Strange.

No settings seem to make a difference, either on cam or MRC. I leave the MRC on all the time, as it switches on and off with the cam.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2010, 03:01 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colchester Essex
Posts: 13
Just a quick update on my problem in case of value to anyone.

Having tried all config settings, resets, alternative cards etc. etc. still could not get the unit to play back on camera. In the end contacted Premier Support and they mirrored my actions on kit of their own whilst we spoke on the phone. Still no joy and therefore Z5 & MRC1 was returned to them for testing.

Pleased to report that 5 days later all returned and working perfectly having replaced a small component. Have to say this was an excellent service from Sony, great support from start to finish.

Z5 & MRC1 make a great partnership, very happy.
Lionel Bloomfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2010, 04:40 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lionel Bloomfield View Post
Hi Everyone, would be grateful for anyones steer/help with the following:-

Santa called early this year and I'm now the proud owner of a MRC1 recorder to compliment my Sony Z5E. The manual is not perhaps as enlightening as it could be but I'm up and running with it and so far very pleased with the results (and the SanDisk Extreme III 16Gb Card).

Whilst I can copy files off to PC to view/edit I had hoped that I would be able to review clips during the shoot 'on camera'. Unfortunately just can't get this to happen. Unit is connected to the back of the Z5 as normal yet when I press it's (i.e the MRC1's) Play button nothing is displayed on the cameras monitor. Am sure it should work, can after all review shots from tape in this way, and was one of the benefits I'd envisaged when buying the unit.

It may of course just be a setup issue, but would welcome help from anyone in the know about this.

Many thanks

Lionel
Great News that you sorted your issues out. I notice you are in the UK and I'm wondering if you could let me know where you purchased your SanDisk Extreme III 16Gb Cards? Did you get a good deal?

I'm thinking about buying a MRC1K for my Z1
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2010, 12:22 AM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colchester Essex
Posts: 13
The Sandisk Extreme has worked well for me (72mins on a 16Gb Card) and transfer of clips etc. to my PC has been flawless. I picked the card up from Jessops (the Calumet branch I usually use did not have any at the time) and I think I paid 80 for it.

I may have found a source for a similar spec'd card (35mg/per sec etc.) for approx 60 and will report back if any good.
Lionel Bloomfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2010, 02:00 PM   #8
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Prince George, BC
Posts: 1
Hmmm. Mine works fine on the Z1u. Perhaps the play format has to be changed. Sometimes if it's in hdv and was recording in sd it might have issues.

s.
Steph St. Laurent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2010, 03:25 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colchester Essex
Posts: 13
Hi Steph

I'm really happy with how it integrates into the Z5 and my work-flow. Whilst everything else with it was fine the fact that I could not review shots acquired by the camera/MRC1 'on the fly' was a problem initially. However since the diagnosis/fix and super fast turnaround by Premier Support (they replaced a faulty circuit board within the MRC1) it's been great.

For anyone wondering 'should I/shouldn't I' get the MRC1 I'd say go for it. The combination of Tape & Card is a real benefit. Tape is great for added security and archive, and fast transfer/capture from Card into my edit suite is a real time saver. Not quite ready to go completely tapeless at the moment but may well do before long.

Thanks to all for all the replies on this.
Lionel Bloomfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2010, 12:42 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 32
Black frames at end of each M2T

Great little unit.

Hopefully someone can help me out. After transferring M2Ts to my PC from the MRC1, playing back the files thru Premiere Pro CS3 results in the final frame of each clip being black with no sound. For clients who want to see a raw footage proof, it's kind of annoying for them to see this black flash, especially for a large sequence of short cuts.

Any help would be fantastic!

Rich
Richard Peddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2010, 12:45 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Peddington View Post
Great little unit.

Hopefully someone can help me out. After transferring M2Ts to my PC from the MRC1, playing back the files thru Premiere Pro CS3 results in the final frame of each clip being black with no sound. For clients who want to see a raw footage proof, it's kind of annoying for them to see this black flash, especially for a large sequence of short cuts.

Any help would be fantastic!

Rich
Are you using the Sony Util to join all the clips back up?

http://support.sonybiz.net/software/search.aspx
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2010, 08:18 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 32
Hi David,

Thanks for your suggestion, but yes, I'm using the "Sony Recording Unit Utility" v1.1. It's doing it when I use the software and when I transfer the files manually. I hope it's an option within the MRC1 that I'm overlooking.

Rich
Richard Peddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2010, 09:56 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 32
Perhaps I should clarify. I'm not having issues when files are merged to create a file larger than 4gb. The black frame is appearing at the end of every single clip, regardless of the file size. I'm going to do some experimenting with different settings in the camera (Z7U) and MRC1. If anyone has experienced this, please let me know if you've fixed the issue. Thanks!

Rich
Richard Peddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2010, 11:41 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 32
I've narrowed the problem down to my Matrox rt.x2 card. I created a new PPro HDV project (non-Matrox) and imported an M2T file, and there was no black frame at the end.

I also tried renaming an M2T file as an MPG, then importing that file into a Matrox project. What do you know, no black frame! Weird. So I have a few options now:

1) work in a non-Matrox project from now on.
2) rename all M2T files to MPG using a batch renamer
3) export a Matrox AVI from a non-Matrox project to edit in realtime in a Matrox project.

I so wish the Sony Recording Unit Utility had the option of merging ALL files into one. For years, my workflow has consisted of capturing from tape to one long AVI, and editing that file. With the MRC1, you're somewhat forced to edit the video using multiple clips. UGH.....

Rich
Richard Peddington is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Sony Hard Drive and Memory Card Recorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:58 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network