CF card workflow at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Sony Hard Drive and Memory Card Recorders

Sony Hard Drive and Memory Card Recorders
Including the HVR-MRC1K CF Card Recorder, HVR-DR60 Hard Disk Recorder and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 10th, 2010, 07:13 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 1,212
CF card workflow

We recorded our first three camera MCR1 wedding between Christmas and New Year, with cameras (Z1s) running in synchro so we had a security tape backup.

I elected to set the camera no 1,2,3 on the MCR1s to help identify the files for multi-camming purposes.

When I imported the files using the Sony software I also chose the option of identifying the camera but I'm not sure whether that conflicted or jeopardised or replaced the camera selection on the MCR1s.

Because I use Avid Liquid, I'm used to not using the timecode to sync the outputs (because the software ignores the recorded timecode (although I still go through the routine of zeroing all three cameras and setting them on free run throughout the day)

The results are confusing and may have to be identified by reference to the material. I am however, very enthusiastic about the results and can see us dropping the security blanket of tapes, but I'd be interested in learning how others here using such files in multicam set-ups organise their workflow, particularly in respect of these camera identing devices.
Philip Howells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2010, 07:30 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Philip, I do exactly the same thing with my four Z5s and MRC1ks. I have each MRC set to a different cam number, and upon transfer to the PC the files are identified with this as a file name prefix, so it's easy to keep track of them.

Don't know about Avid, but Premiere CS3 ignores the TC of the original file (although it sees it fine when capturing from tape) so I'm not going to waste time syncing the TC of all four cams anymore. I can't get anyone from Adobe to tell me why this is or if it's fixed in CS4.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2010, 07:42 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 1,212
Adam - thanks - do you also use the clip numbering option in the software or do you leave it on zero?
Philip Howells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2010, 07:47 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
No, I leave it on zero. Didn't even know it was there until you mentioned it, so I checked.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2010, 01:46 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 1,212
The only problem I've encountered with the MRCs is the fact that they number each clip on each card from 0001. This means I can end up with five clips with the same number from the same camera. Of course the date/time is different - a good reason for syncing the cameras before the shoot (to zero and leaving them on free run) - but as far as I can see, Avid doesn't include that in the sort criteria.

My dealer, a Sony main agent feels that I can't be the only user who'd like the opportunity to have sequential clip numbering regardless of the card - maybe Sony will do a software upgrade!
Philip Howells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2010, 03:12 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Gold View Post
Premiere CS3 ignores the TC of the original file (although it sees it fine when capturing from tape) so I'm not going to waste time syncing the TC of all four cams anymore. I can't get anyone from Adobe to tell me why this is or if it's fixed in CS4.
Update -- this will be fixed in the first dot update for CS5. More details in the thread in the Adobe Forum.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Sony Hard Drive and Memory Card Recorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network