How do I capture video w/ my new HC7? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series
Sony's latest single-CMOS additions to their HDV camcorder line.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 8th, 2007, 11:50 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: California
Posts: 8
How do I capture video w/ my new HC7?

Yes, I am a noob.

I need help, I just got my HC7, and I know there is the I.Link and the USB. I don't have a sony computer, so I can't use the I.Link....but I can't quite figure out how to get my HD video to go to my computer via. the usb.

HELP!
Jason Ladera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2007, 03:23 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Apple Valley CA
Posts: 4,866
USB is for still pix only (memory stick)

iLink is just Sony term for "Firewire", either your computer has it, or you can get an add in card cheap.
Dave Blackhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2007, 01:09 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: California
Posts: 8
Well, yes my system does have fire wire and the camera did come with a firewire cable...but its a mini firewire cable.

its a mini plug on both ends. How can I resolve this?

my computer doesn't have a mini firewire plug.
Jason Ladera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2007, 01:26 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Buy a 4-pin to 6-pin cable. Radio Shack has 'em.

Just make sure both the PC and the cam are powered off when you connect them.
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2007, 05:03 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Then to capture HD footage, use HDVSplit as a free solution to capturing. (though cost-required capture software sometimes work better.)
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2007, 04:49 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: California
Posts: 8
So I can't use something like Sony Vegas to capture hi-def 1080i?
Jason Ladera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2007, 05:55 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Yes. Sony Vegas will capture-- assuming later versions 6-8.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2007, 07:37 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: California
Posts: 8
Yup. Sony Vegas 7 to be exact.
Jason Ladera is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:15 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network