Various questions Sony HC1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series
Sony's latest single-CMOS additions to their HDV camcorder line.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 30th, 2005, 11:59 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,761
Various questions Sony HC1

Ways around aperture/gain/iris controls on HC1?

I am a bit confused to the exact nature of exposure control behaviour, but I think there are some ways around the major drawbacks in the camcorders controls.

Simple stuff most of us know:
Zoom/Focus. In professional movie making they prefer to physically move the position of the camera back and forward and side to side. Learning to do this you only would have to use the zoom on occasion, leaving you free to ride the focus.

Shutter control. In film they usually stick with one speed for a consistent look, pick the best speed for look and lock it till light is too low. This then leaves gain and aperture in full auto (the two that I don't want in full auto).

A part solution. Aperture and gain control:
Make a HD SLR lens adaptor (research is still on going in the alternative imaging forums and progress is coming along) and use it's iris. I assume you can lock the exposure to one position. So would turning the manual exposure control so that the iris opened up and locking it (with shutter locked) do the trick? Otherwise, you could cover the front of the lens with something black (say a lens cap) to force it to open and then lock. Now you can use the iris on the SLR lens. To stop the gain from going too high and producing noise, you might be able to make a lens caps with faint light source, to stop the gain from being forced up while forcing the iris open.

You could then use the SLR lens zoom and focus controls.

Another idea, is it possible to store the open iris in shot transition between power ups.
Wayne Morellini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2005, 12:42 PM   #2
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
Using the iris on the SLR lens is a really bad idea -- the more it gets stopped down, the more visible grain shows up on the ground glass. Normally you keep the SLR lens wide open at all times and control exposure through the camera's iris. Relying on the SLR's iris for exposure will have a definite impact on the quality of the image (meaning, the more stopped-down you make it, the grittier and grainier your footage will become).
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2005, 07:50 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 66
accessories for HC1?

Would a wide angle lens like the Kenko SGW05 work well witht he HC1? or would this camera require some specific wide angle lenses?

also, loading the tapes from below, would this make it a hassle to attach a beachtek adapter?

thank you
Maximo Salaberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2005, 05:21 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 54
Mixing footage from Sony HC1 and Canon GL2

Hi,
I have a Canon GL2 that I'm quite pleased with. However, I need to add a second good camera to build my business. I have been shooting weddings with the GL2 as my main camera and a Sony Digital 8 camera for the wide shots.
I was planning to get another GL2 until I started looking at the HC1 and FX1. I know the camera is just being released, but I would like some opinions on this: If I buy the Sony HC1 and begin filming weddings with it and a GL2, how well will the colors and footage (shot in SD or downgraded after the shoot) match?
I can color correct in Final Cut Pro, and getting the HC1 gets at least one foot in the door towards HD.
Apparently Canon isn't quite ready to release a product, so I have to do something. Also, is the HC1 up to snuff for wedding videography, or would you absolutely go for the FX1?, since it's 3 chip?
Thanks,
- John
John Stanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2005, 05:58 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Malmö, Sweden
Posts: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maximo Salaberry
also, loading the tapes from below, would this make it a hassle to attach a beachtek adapter?
Check out http://hdvforever.com/hdv/hdrhc1/default.htm
To me it looks like it will be problem every time you change a tape. But I remember a friend having some kind of snap-on adapter to his camera so attaching that to the camera will make it easier to pick it on and off. Maybe something like that can be used?
Fredrik-Larsson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2005, 09:14 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,761
That depends on the the sort of adaptor your using. Truly grain less adaptors (which some are trying with wax but are other possible ways) should get around that.

I have stumbled accross a description on how to control the exposure on another forum from a guy that has been doing lots of testing on the camera (many clips).

http://www.camcorderinfo.com/bbs/sho...4&postcount=49
http://www.sonyhdvinfo.com/showthread.php?t=2365

Thanks

Wayne.
Wayne Morellini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2005, 05:30 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 40
Virtual Clickable HC1

In order to keep all the menus straight in my mind, I created a set of Javascript-enabled pages on my site with screen grabs from the LCD screen. It's all in Japanese, and then the English translation is either at the right or appears when hovering. Check it out:

http://hdvforever.com/hdv/hdrhc1/menus

Currently it has four views, starting with when you first turn on the camera, then clicking into rec review / end search, the three screens of personalized menus, and finally the five main menu "chunks". Soon I'll add in every menu option underneath all that so I can better memorize my Japanese-only camera.

(Menus will be captured specifically for HDV recording. I have no interest in stills or DV!)

-Lorin
Lorin Thwaits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2005, 01:02 AM   #8
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Great job! Thanks Lorin,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2005, 07:22 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 24
strobing pans with HC1?

I picked up an HC1 the other day, have shot a variety of nature situations and have been editing it with FCP 5 and viewing on an Apple 23' HD cinema display. The image is great except when there's a pan the image really seems to strobe alot. Even relatively slow pans. I realize I'm looking at interlaced frames on a progressive screen but am I doing something wrong? It looks fine on a CRT monitor (smooth but videolike) but it drives me crazy watching on my flat panel. Is there any way to smooth this out? My shutter is set to 1/60.

I should also mention that I usually leave the camera's control's on AUTO.
Chris Hink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2005, 01:49 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 198
Well, it is kind of difficult to assess your inquiry because we would need a lot more. A sample of the clip would be idea. A lot of things could play into effect; like movement on the environment while panning, pan speed, etc. Usually, under a lot of movement (lots of pans), it is wise to increase the shutter speed to something around 1/2000th or so. Also, take into consideration that HDV is compressing its 3-4x DV resolution into the same 25mb. That means this higher compression will result in less image accuracy when panning. This is a disadvantage of HDV, but most people consider the quality tradeoff to be acceptable.
Alexander Karol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2005, 10:15 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 143
HC1 on digital projector

i went to hc1 convention in seoul
for the demonstration they screened on digital projector barco about 400inch screen...it's really impressvie even in big screen it was very sharp..clear almost like 2k film.


http://arena.nikkeibp.co.jp/col/2005...ample_mpeg.zip

Last edited by Jung Kyu; August 11th, 2005 at 12:05 PM.
Jung Kyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2005, 11:21 AM   #12
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Thanks for this report, Jung! Much appreciated,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2005, 04:45 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 94
Taiwan has a site compare the FX1and HC1 pciture quailty

Dear Folks,

i guess u don;t need to read chinese just acroll down and u will see the 2 captured pix, of both Fx1 and Hc1. seems only at low light the HC1 is not as good as FX1.

i just got HC1 E , but yet to find out how is the cinema gamma, seems no way to make it work.

J.M.
John Yamamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2005, 07:15 AM   #14
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Perhaps it would help to post a link? :-)
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2005, 08:08 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 26
PC requerimets to capture from hc1?

Hi everyone, I am going to buy this camera (HC1) and my question is what PC I must have to capture hdv from HC1 DV tape. I think to use CapDVHS to capture the raw m2t file.

thanks.
Alex Thin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:36 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network