Make a A1 from HC1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series
Sony's latest single-CMOS additions to their HDV camcorder line.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 12th, 2005, 01:25 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bremen, Germany
Posts: 176
Make a A1 from HC1

Already did someone read the firmware from the A1? Perhaps it is easy to making a A1 from HC1...

See: http://www.fxsupport.de/hc1/index.html in the middle of this side - programming firmware (german).

http://www.schnellsuche.de/kostenlos...uAnleitung.htm to making a programming adapter for lanc and free software.
__________________
Wolfgang Winne
www.ohrwurmaudio.de www.fxsupport.de
Wolfgang Winne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2005, 01:33 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
<sigh> They tried doing the same thing to turn a TRV-950 into a PDX-10. But the real question is WHY would anyone go to all this trouble, and void their warranty.... instead of just buying an HVR-A1 or a PDX-10? :-)
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2005, 01:50 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bremen, Germany
Posts: 176
In germany costs a Sony A1 2700,- Euro, the HC1 only 1400,- Euro. A little programming the byte is free ;-)
__________________
Wolfgang Winne
www.ohrwurmaudio.de www.fxsupport.de
Wolfgang Winne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2005, 04:16 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Independence MO.
Posts: 318
Being that it is all in German I could be looking at the information and not even know it.....

Danny Fye
__________________
www.dannyfye.com
Danny Fye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2005, 10:20 AM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfgang Winne
In germany costs a Sony A1 2700,- Euro, the HC1 only 1400
Well here in the US there's an old saying, "You get what you pay for." ;-)

Seriously, you could ruin your camera by messing around with the firmware and it certainly would void the warranty. I'm not all that familiar with the A1 vs HC1, but I never thought those hacks made sense for the TRV-950 and doubt that many people ever tried them.

However, I know that Sony's newer low(er) cost cameras have moved almost all the functions away from dedicated controls to touch-screen menus. If that's the case then a firmware hack might be more practical I suppose.

But personally I think it makes little sense. If you need the pro version you should buy it. Aside from the additional features, the A1 is supported by Sony's broadcast division instead of their consumer division. This entitles you to a much higher level of service, and is something which is also reflected in the higher cost. And of course you also get the XLR box and shotgun mike which don't come with the HC1. For that matter, does the HC1 have an intelligent hot shoe that's even compatible with that box?
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2005, 10:35 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bremen, Germany
Posts: 176
"You get what you pay for."

yes, that is always like that.

In Germany works on the firmware nothing unusual is because of customs regulations (Zoll) at the cameras for Europe the DV-In processing turned off therefore is to reprogram by firmware nothing unusual.

The HC1 is still new, perhaps but there is soon a code around also with films the exposure time and gainboost in the monitor to see.

I hope my english is understandable? Babelfish (http://babelfish.altavista.com/tr) is my friend.... ;-)
__________________
Wolfgang Winne
www.ohrwurmaudio.de www.fxsupport.de
Wolfgang Winne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2005, 11:05 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Clermont, FL.
Posts: 941
To me, the most important thing about the A1 vs the H1 is the standard shoe mount. The firmware differences are nice, but I could live with less features. Being able to mount a shotgun and a wireless mic are features I really need though and you need the standard shoe mount for that. Yeah, the shoe mount is kind of expensive, but you do what you've gotta do!
Laurence Kingston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2005, 03:36 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 331
You get a really nice mount for the HC1 using a standard flash mount handle from Hama. The ones you normally use for still photography. It's $12. And it gives you really nice operating features.
__________________
Martin Munthe
VFX Supervisor/DP/Director
Martin Munthe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2006, 02:41 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 118
Wolf, I love ya, but i can't understand a word you're saying and babelfish isnt helping.
I want to hack my HC1 to get some A1U features, but I need the instructions in detailed and concise english! Anyone have any luck with this?

Trust me, if i had the extra cash, i would have bought the A1U.
__________________
Letus35 Flip on HC1
FCP5 w/ Intel Mac Mini and Powerbook Ti G4
R.P. Cuenco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2006, 12:18 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 198
The HC1 will NEVER be the A1U. The firmware additions are minute compared to the XLR ability and normal shoe that the A1U has.
Alexander Karol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2006, 01:21 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Litchfield Park, AZ (W/of Phoenix)
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by R.P. Cuenco
Wolf, I love ya, but i can't understand a word you're saying and babelfish isnt helping.
I want to hack my HC1 to get some A1U features, but I need the instructions in detailed and concise english! Anyone have any luck with this?

Trust me, if i had the extra cash, i would have bought the A1U.
I do what he does all the time to check out foreign sites, goto http://babelfish.altavista.com/babelfish/tr and put in the URL for the site he was referencing with German to English for the translation, took about 2 minutes but the entire article is very readable this way.

ML
__________________
Miguel Lombana
http://www.miguellombana.com & http://www.phoenixhamradio.com
Miguel Lombana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2006, 06:31 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexander Karol
The HC1 will NEVER be the A1U. The firmware additions are minute compared to the XLR ability and normal shoe that the A1U has.
yea yea yea. so i wont have xlr ability and a normal shoe. im getting a beachtek and i already have rods support. im more concerned with the a1u features. such as black stretch and cinematone.

miguel, ill keep crackin' at it. btw, i bought the service manuals for both the a1u and the hc1 as a reference and a just incase.
__________________
Letus35 Flip on HC1
FCP5 w/ Intel Mac Mini and Powerbook Ti G4
R.P. Cuenco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2006, 09:41 AM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Leon Bruk

Does Hvr-a1u Has Built In Mic If Don't Want To Shot With XLR FeaTures?
Leon Bruk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2006, 10:48 AM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,761
Wolfgang, we have just been talking about enabling black-stretch on the HC1, which apparently is done somewhere in northern Europe. Do you know anything about black-stretch feature, or independent aperture/shutter/
gain, or live status display of these?

For everybody: The HC1 is a very good camera for what it is, the only thing that really lets it down is HDV, given higher data rate (35Mb/s+) F1.2 lens (maybe 1/2inch sensor) for low light, true progressive modes, black-stretch, independent aperture, shutter and gain, and live display of the same it would be an ideal camera. But the only things we can really do about these is find a way to enable black-stretch, and independent aperture/shutter/gain and display.
Wayne Morellini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2006, 06:40 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bremen, Germany
Posts: 176
http://www.fxsupport.de/hc1/daten/hc1.txt
that is my completely HC1E firmware (SecurityDump). And here: http://www.fxsupport.de/hc1/daten/hc1zoom.txt is the firmwaredata if the really smooth zoom (trans shot) activ. there 41 data differently..... Page 1 of firmware is not to reading with lremote...?

if i have mutch time, i testing writing in the firmware the smooth data...... if i have a A1 than i reading this firmware with black-stretch!
__________________
Wolfgang Winne
www.ohrwurmaudio.de www.fxsupport.de
Wolfgang Winne is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:38 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network