HC1 viewfinder is cropped? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series
Sony's latest single-CMOS additions to their HDV camcorder line.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 11th, 2006, 10:22 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 138
HC1 viewfinder is cropped?

I think the HC1 viewfinder (and LCD) crop the sides of what is actually being shot. I mention this because I have a Century Optics Fisheye, for which I made a short petal hood. (I lost the one it came with.) When shooting, the hood did not appear on the LCD or viewfinder, however, after capturing the footage and viewing on PC, the lateral lobes of the hood were visible. It would appear to be about a 5% crop on the sides.
Gian Pablo Villamil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2006, 10:26 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
I'm sure that's the case, as it is with virtually every consumer and prosumer camcorder. The only exception that I know of is the Z1 which has the "allscan" option to show the full frame.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2006, 10:44 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 508
What is the purpose of this cropping? It seems like it would hinder good framing when you record.
Alex Thames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2006, 10:46 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Well I guess that question should be addressed to Canon, Sony, JVC and Panasonic because most (if not all) their cameras do this (which is known as "overscan"). I suppose their argument would be that all consumer TV's also exhibit a similar amount of overscan, so they're trying to be "WYSIWYG"....
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2006, 11:21 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tampa
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boyd Ostroff
I'm sure that's the case, as it is with virtually every consumer and prosumer camcorder. The only exception that I know of is the Z1 which has the "allscan" option to show the full frame.
FYI, the A1 has the allscan option as well.
Chris Joy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2006, 11:22 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Joy
FYI, the A1 has the allscan option as well.
Cool, I didn't realize that. I find it very useful on my Z1.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2006, 11:33 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 508
Just wondering why this cropping is called overscan? If it's cropping, doesn't that mean things are cut out, and hence "under"(scan)? Or is the scan referring to something else?
Alex Thames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2006, 08:35 AM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
It goes back to the CRT days Alex. The electron beam scans across the phosphor on the face of the tube. With overscan the beam is sweeping across an area wider than the face of the tube, so some of the image doesn't show (it's scanning over the edges). In the case of underscan the electron beam doesn't scan as wide as the face of the tube, so you see the full image with a black border around the edges.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2006, 02:47 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tampa
Posts: 220
question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boyd Ostroff
Cool, I didn't realize that. I find it very useful on my Z1.
Hey Boyd, when you go into allscan mode on the Z1, does it shrink the image on the LCD and in the viewfinder??? On the A1, when I hit allscan the image shrinks a bit with a tiny black border, but you can clearly see the field of view has widened.

chris
Chris Joy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2006, 05:03 PM   #10
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Joy
On the A1, when I hit allscan the image shrinks a bit with a tiny black border, but you can clearly see the field of view has widened.
That's exactly what happens on the Z1. You get the full image with a black border around it.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2006, 06:04 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 508
But this black border, even if you can see it on the LCD/viewfinder, isn't actually recorded right? You won't see the border in the NLE?
Alex Thames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2006, 06:22 PM   #12
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
No, the point of the black border is to let you know that you're seeing the entire image inside of it. Going into allscan mode has no effect whatsoever on what you're recording. It's just another way to view the image on the LCD and viewfinder.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:28 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network