Does LANC controller pull power all the time? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series
Sony's latest single-CMOS additions to their HDV camcorder line.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 14th, 2006, 05:16 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 177
Does LANC controller pull power all the time?

I noticed my enhanced battery was dead today. I had the controller plugged in all night, but the camera was turned off. Does it constantly draw power? Also...I plugged in the ac to recharge until I get the quick charger and noticed it would not start charging the battery until I disconnected the lanc cord. Common?

Thanks guys...
Michael Stowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2006, 07:32 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 844
Yes i think someone else mentioned this as well so it looks like you're right, thats the way it works.

pull the plug on it when not using looks like the way you have to go.
By the way, which model LANC do you have Michael?
Stu Holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2006, 07:38 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu Holmes
Yes i think someone else mentioned this as well so it looks like you're right, thats the way it works.

pull the plug on it when not using looks like the way you have to go.
By the way, which model LANC do you have Michael?
Currently have the Varizoom stealth, but it will be returned for the Monfrotto 521pro
Michael Stowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2006, 07:52 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 844
Very much appreciate any feedback on the 521Pro when you get it Mike.

best regds
Stu Holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2006, 07:55 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu Holmes
Very much appreciate any feedback on the 521Pro when you get it Mike.

best regds
Will definately do that. Alex talks highly of it.
Michael Stowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 12:49 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu Holmes
Very much appreciate any feedback on the 521Pro when you get it Mike.

best regds
Stu...the 521Pro arrived today. Only used it for an hour or so, but am very impressed. The one push (well hold down for a second) is great. You have progressive and fixed zoom settings. Basically you can set your zoom speed to your personal preference and it will not vary. You can also do the obvious progressive where the zoom is controlled by how much you apply pressure to the rocker which, by the way, is very easy to control for short or very long zooms. Manual focus can be used by pushing the MF button one quick time. This will then make the rocker control focus rather than zoom. Push the manual focus one more time and you are back to total zoom control. The one push AF function is achieved by holding the manual focus button in for a short period and it does work very well. Doing this leaves the rocker on zoom. Other than that you have your basic on/off and record/stop. Overall I rate this very high. Yes...you cannot focus and zoom at the same time, but I doubt many, if any, would need that. Even if you did...switching the rocker between focus and zoom is one push.

Well update if I find out anything further.
Michael Stowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 01:00 AM   #7
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,529
I love it.

As I've progressed, the only thing I'm missing is an exposure control. Working the LANC and then needing to flip around to grab at the EXPOSURE dial is a real pain. This is true of most LANCs.

The PUSH focus was a revelation to me. However, I really have had to make sure I'm still not in MANUAL focus when I zoom. Often I get out of focus results when I zoom! I now tend to look down and see IF the Manual Focus light is OFF prior to using the rocker.

I use it on my DVRigPro and on a second Miller Pan Handle.

The 521Pro? Wouldn't leave the house without it! Even if I wasn't vidoeing!!

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 02:46 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Bernard
I love it.

As I've progressed, the only thing I'm missing is an exposure control. Working the LANC and then needing to flip around to grab at the EXPOSURE dial is a real pain. This is true of most LANCs.

The PUSH focus was a revelation to me. However, I really have had to make sure I'm still not in MANUAL focus when I zoom. Often I get out of focus results when I zoom! I now tend to look down and see IF the Manual Focus light is OFF prior to using the rocker.

I use it on my DVRigPro and on a second Miller Pan Handle.

The 521Pro? Wouldn't leave the house without it! Even if I wasn't vidoeing!!

Grazie
I agree Gerald. In my ongoing work with it I find that using the one push AF is not that bad as long as I hold my finger on the button. I should stress...not bad is meaning I do not go to manual focus instead of zoom control. I do agree with the AE, but oh well...not that bad to deal with. Great Controller
Michael Stowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 03:44 AM   #9
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Stowe
I agree Gerald.

LOL!!! Who's "Gerald"! Nice name ...

I just ZOOM in > PUSH focus and my AUTO gets invoked and sets FOCUS > CHECK! > Release AF > Zoom out. Sometimes IF I do this, in a DOUBLE hit, I ALLOW manual to be invoked, and when I then zoom out my FOCUS goes instead. What/why do you keep it pressed in?

But I would like to be able to adjust Iris via a LANC

Grazie ( Gerald!!!)
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 03:51 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Bernard
LOL!!! Who's "Gerald"! Nice name ...

I just ZOOM in > PUSH focus and my AUTO gets invoked and sets FOCUS > CHECK! > Release AF > Zoom out. Sometimes IF I do this, in a DOUBLE hit, I ALLOW manual to be invoked, and when I then zoom out my FOCUS goes instead. What/why do you keep it pressed in?

But I would like to be able to adjust Iris via a LANC

Grazie ( Gerald!!!)
Sorry Graham. :-) I was talking with a Gerald from work at the same time...oh well...
Michael Stowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 04:52 AM   #11
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,529
. yeah? Bet you called HIM Graham then? - ;-)

Nah problem Eric!

G
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 10:34 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 844
Chaps (now don't say 'who's this guy called chaps?'...!)

thanks for the feedback on the 521Pro.
Sounds like a quality bit of kit it really does.

One more thing that springs to mind at the moment is: where are you mounting it when you're shooting ?
Graham/Grazie (you're called 'Thanks' ?!!?! - some italian background i'm sure.) - am not sure what cam(s) you've got but i'm thinking something pretty serious judging from your longevity and other posts etc. so you may have more room to mount the LANC.

Yes yes i know, on a tripod it's not a problem at all (pan handle i guess) but where do you two guys mount the LANC if you're just using a monopod or pure handheld (shudder..) ?

Vielen Dank
Stu Holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 10:45 AM   #13
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,529
Not handheld. No. I use it on the right hand handle of my DVRigPro- viz : http://dvtec.tv/id27.html

Grazie

pronouced: Graze-EE .. as in a Bull grazing!!! Got the image??
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 11:03 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 844
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Bernard
Not handheld. No. I use it on the right hand handle of my DVRigPro- viz : http://dvtec.tv/id27.html

Grazie

pronouced: Graze-EE .. as in a Bull grazing!!! Got the image??
Ah looks like a nice rig. Sort of a cross between a steadicam and a shoulder brace, except no iso-elastic arm.

ok right got the image now.... i think. cheers!

ps. nice tan for a brit... ;-)
Stu Holmes is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:09 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network