Question about pal & ntsc (HDR-HC1). and languages. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series
Sony's latest single-CMOS additions to their HDV camcorder line.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 5th, 2006, 12:56 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 6
Question about pal & ntsc (HDR-HC1). and languages.

Is there a difference between a HDR-HC1-pal model and a HDR-HC1-ntsc model if I only record HD?


I also would like to know, if languages for the menues can be downloaded into the camera? or be installed by a sony-dealer. Iīve got a japanese version of the camera, it does not have english menues.


Thanks for the help.
Henrik Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2006, 01:35 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 844
PAL/NTSC: Yes. Same resolution but PAL shoots at 50fields-per-second (=25fps) and NTSC at 30fields-per-second (=30fps). Default shutter speed on PAL cam is 1/50th sec, NTSC its 1/60th sec.

Languages: no. Languages AFAIK are not user-selectable or downloadable. That's IMO quite deliberate by Sony to stop people cherry-picking the cheapest market and buying NTSC cam overseas....
Stu Holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2006, 01:50 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 6
Ok, so the framerate isnīt standard in the HD format, thanks.

I understand that they do that deliberatly, but wouldnīt it be possible for the sony-people to change the firmware? after all, itīs a sony camera, not a copy. Iīll try to ge ahold of the nearest dealer and try. Iīm willing to pay.

Am I assuming right if Im thinking that both languages and Pal/Ntsc is changable by replacing a chip or just changing the firmware somehow?
Henrik Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2006, 04:36 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 844
Quote:
Originally Posted by Henrik Jensen
I understand that they do that deliberatly, but wouldnīt it be possible for the sony-people to change the firmware? after all, itīs a sony camera, not a copy. Iīll try to ge ahold of the nearest dealer and try. Iīm willing to pay.
Yes i'm sure it's possible but whether it' likely that they'll do that - i don't know.
I susepct that they will refuse to do it, but thats just a guess.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Henrik Jensen
Am I assuming right if Im thinking that both languages and Pal/Ntsc is changable by replacing a chip or just changing the firmware somehow?
I doubt there's any hardware differences at all between the PAL and NTSC models and so it might be just a firmware change for the languages.
PAL vs NTSC - i'm not sure about that - how the two differ.

Since Sweden is a PAL-video system, why did you acquire a NTSC camera with the menu's in japanese? Surely you knew that sweden is PAL, Japan is NTSC? do you have any problems playing back your footage?
Stu Holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2006, 04:57 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 6
Hey, thanks for your answers.

Yes I know we use PAL in Sweden ;-) but I have no intention connecting the camcorder to the TV.. Everything I shoot goes in to premiere.

I bought the camera in Japan because of the price difference. I knew all the facts, and Im happy the way it is. but of course I would be even more happy if I could change firmware :-D hehe.
Henrik Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2006, 08:23 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Henrik Jensen
Hey, thanks for your answers.

Yes I know we use PAL in Sweden ;-) but I have no intention connecting the camcorder to the TV.. Everything I shoot goes in to premiere.

I bought the camera in Japan because of the price difference. I knew all the facts, and Im happy the way it is. but of course I would be even more happy if I could change firmware :-D hehe.
Eh. You should have asked on the forum before buying. I know a bunch of shops in Tokyo that have the HC1N, it is the non-US export model for NTSC regions. It is the same price as the HC1J, and has multi-language menus (English, English simple, French, Spanish, Portugese, Chinese, Japanese & Korean).

Actually you can get really good prices on the A1J, which has English & Japanese menus (and is labelled in English). I paid 208,000 yen, which is about $1,800.

I am almost certain that you will not be able to upgrade/change the firmware.
Gian Pablo Villamil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2006, 04:27 AM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 6
Eh, Im more like why not give it a try. I still would have bought it if I could rewind time hehe .-) There was accually a German guy in this forum that made changes to his firmware. However not the language. But it is deffinatly possible.

I payed half of what you payed ;-) and I record the audio externaly, so there is not a big difference.

But thanks for the offer, honestly!
Henrik Jensen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network