No analog-digital passthrough on HC-1? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series
Sony's latest single-CMOS additions to their HDV camcorder line.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 31st, 2006, 12:44 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 487
No analog-digital passthrough on HC-1?

Why, Sony, why? It's the perfect camcorder except for that one little thing. Am I missing something? I'm pretty sure the manual said something about it not being possible, but maybe I read something wrong. I tried hooking everything up but it looks like the AV port is an output only. Can somebody confirm that this has been left out?
Chris Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2006, 08:10 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wyomissing, PA
Posts: 1,141
Images: 57
You are correct. It's an output only.

That $1400 pricetag for the HC1 is the minimum entrance fee for HDV resolution period. If you want anything else useful beyond that, then the price more than doubles to an FX1. Thus we come to realize the true consumerish nature of these little cams. Therefore, it's not something that has been "left out", but rather something that was never designed to be "in" the first place.

What I am saying is that just because a comparable miniDV product may have all these bells and whistles, doesn't give license for those features to be included on the HC1. What makes the HC1 better than those feature packed miniDV cams is the resolution. That's it, nothing else. It's a first generation HDV camera of it's kind.
__________________
Pete Ferling http://ferling.net It's never a mistake if you learn something new from it.
-------------------------------------------
Peter Ferling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2006, 10:23 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Ok so it's an extra $200, but easily solved:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...ist&sku=349146
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2006, 03:15 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wyomissing, PA
Posts: 1,141
Images: 57
Cheaper still:

http://www.videoguys.com/pyroAVlink.html
__________________
Pete Ferling http://ferling.net It's never a mistake if you learn something new from it.
-------------------------------------------
Peter Ferling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2006, 06:41 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 844
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Ferling
You are correct. It's an output only.

That $1400 pricetag for the HC1 is the minimum entrance fee for HDV resolution period.
Well, there's the HC3 which is same 1080i HDV res, and it's less than $1200 at B&H:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...=423689&is=REG
Stu Holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2006, 06:47 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wyomissing, PA
Posts: 1,141
Images: 57
I know. However, I was referring to the HC1 itself.
__________________
Pete Ferling http://ferling.net It's never a mistake if you learn something new from it.
-------------------------------------------
Peter Ferling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2006, 07:12 AM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,415
Do you just want to use the pass-thru to get analog video to your PC or is the camcorder/firewire an integral part of what you're trying to do?
Tommy Haupfear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 02:00 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 487
I just wanted the passthrough. Looks like I'll have to pick up the Pyro then.
Chris Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 08:33 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 26
re

What kind of "video" you want to convert to analogog to digital?, because there are many cards in the market, many of them ver cheap, taht can make this kind of work.
Alex Thin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 08:52 AM   #10
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,415
Alex, I was thinking of the same thing. Most of the cheaper units use USB or a proprietary card like my Studio Plus 700-PCI version 10.5.

Is firewire a must for the transfer?
Tommy Haupfear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 09:27 AM   #11
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Firewire is a must for I/O and this is true of essentially anyone. I'd be surprised if the HC1 is different than the HC3 and A1 in that regard, and the A1 does allow analog monitoring of a Firewire input.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 10:34 AM   #12
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,415
Quote:
Firewire is a must for I/O and this is true of essentially anyone.
Douglas, we were talking about a 3rd party device without using a camcorder at all to transfer analog video to your PC. Definitely firewire is the preferred method of transfer with digital video.
Tommy Haupfear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 10:53 AM   #13
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
I understand. But in reading the thread, I didn't understand you were looking for analog input for pass-thru-only, I thought the discussion was also including preview/capture. Apologies.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 05:06 PM   #14
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,415
Canon now has a HDV cam with analog-digital passthru.

http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/co...4059&pageno=11
Tommy Haupfear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 05:54 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy Haupfear
Canon now has a HDV cam with analog-digital passthru.

http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/co...4059&pageno=11
That's a month away, but it looks very interesting. It also has optical image stabilization. And a full one year warranty.
Jeff DeMaagd is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:25 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network