What does Blackmagic Designís Intensity exactly do? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series
Sony's latest single-CMOS additions to their HDV camcorder line.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 17th, 2007, 08:41 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Niagara Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,121
What does Blackmagic Designís Intensity exactly do?

I was looking at the Blackmagic Designís Intensity for my HC1, but I am still unsure of what it does? IS it like the Andromedia for the DVX? Do you need to use a laptop to capture images straight from the camera? Can it still go to tape?
David Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 09:06 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 440
Won't work with HC1, requires a camcorder with HDMI port, and you need a desktop machine since it's a PCIe card. It is similar to andromeda but only gets 4:2:2 from the sensor pre-compression.
Wes Vasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 09:13 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Niagara Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,121
Which camera have the HDMI port?
David Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 11:23 PM   #4
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Sony V1, FX7, HC3, HC5, HC7, in the HDV lineup.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 11:45 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,719
You can use it with your HC1 but you will also have to buy a Component to HDMI converter which costs around another $250.00 I think. This still comes out to less then half the cost of a normal HD component capture card so you still are getting a good deal.
Thomas Smet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2007, 04:57 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Currently on the move!
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Smet
You can use it with your HC1 but you will also have to buy a Component to HDMI converter which costs around another $250.00 I think.
Gefen Component to HDMI adapter for around 180$. But I've (still) never heard of anyone using this setup yet...

Oh by the way! Does anyone know if the component out of the camcorders is YPbPr? Because this adapter works only with this type of signal...
Thanasis Grigoropoulos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2007, 06:33 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Niagara Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,121
So right now the HC1 has 4:1:1 and with the black magic it is 4:2:2. I wonder how much of a difference I will be able to see and if it is worth the extra $500.00?
David Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2007, 08:49 AM   #8
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Delaney
So right now the HC1 has 4:1:1 and with the black magic it is 4:2:2. I wonder how much of a difference I will be able to see and if it is worth the extra $500.00?
On capture? None. Using an uncompressed capture source won't put anything in the picture that isn't already there. BTW, the HC1 is 4:2:0, not 4:1:1 unless you're shooting DV mode, which I wouldn't do but you might.

Where the 4:2:2 uncompressed or lightly compressed image comes into benefit is when you're color correcting, re-compressing, and moving from app to app. It holds together better than does the highly compressed 4:2:0 MPEG image. If it's 10bit vs 8 bit, you can push the chroma harder as well.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2007, 09:20 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: ny, ny
Posts: 201
I'm a little slow. Why do I need this card if I can capture via firewire ?
Ron Chau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2007, 09:44 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 440
Ron, the FireWire contains a compressed 4:2:0 MPEG2 stream, the card bypasses the compression stage by way of the HDMI port. Basically if you are doing green screen studio work then this card is for you because you'll have to be tethered to a desktop. There are other reasons to shoot this way of course as Douglas has stated but I think most people would probably use it for green screen work.
Wes Vasher is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:36 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network