HD Time Lapse with the HC1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series
Sony's latest single-CMOS additions to their HDV camcorder line.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 26th, 2007, 06:28 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
HD Time Lapse with the HC1

Hello,

I want to do some time lapse footage using the HC1. I would like to use the camera within the camcorder to capture each frame and then compile them in post production.

My question is this.....Which photo option (fine-standard) would you suggest I use?

When the Camcorder is in Camera-Tape mode the:
1440X810 (which can later be slightly stretched to fit on a 1920*1080 screen)
Fine = 645KB
Standard = 274 KB

When Camcorder is in Memory Mode the:
1920X1080
Standard = 450

(Each picture take about 2 seconds writing time so it is acceptable for time lapse)

Any advice would be appreciated.

Curtis Shillington
Curtis Shillington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2007, 09:30 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wyomissing, PA
Posts: 1,141
Images: 57
I personally would not use the HC1, and opt for a real digital camera to capture at a higher rez for such work.

Canon has a free still image capture utility that will allow greater flexibility and capture directly to a labtop. Again just my opinion. Therefore, you should do a quick test using the HC1 and see which settings work for yourself.
__________________
Pete Ferling http://ferling.net It's never a mistake if you learn something new from it.
-------------------------------------------
Peter Ferling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2007, 01:04 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
I use the HC1 for timelapse in memory mode with a 1GB Memory Stick Pro Duo (940 jpg in fine quality). The image size is 1920x1080 and I import them in Quicktime. You can also choose 1920x1440 and apply a tilt movement later in Post-Production. In the menu Pict-Appli select INT.REC-STL and set the interval to 1, 5 or 10 min.
Rodolphe Pellerin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2007, 04:39 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodolphe Pellerin
I use the HC1 for timelapse in memory mode with a 1GB Memory Stick Pro Duo (940 jpg in fine quality). The image size is 1920x1080 and I import them in Quicktime. You can also choose 1920x1440 and apply a tilt movement later in Post-Production. In the menu Pict-Appli select INT.REC-STL and set the interval to 1, 5 or 10 min.
Thanks for the reply!!!

The problem I found with shooting FINE-1920X1080 pics is that each pic takes about 2-3 seconds 2 process.....(i guess this is not a big deal though in most circumstances).
1 GB card will get you 1000 pics (aprox. 30 sec of time lapse = which is about 50 minutes of shooting time)

Do you think using 1920X1080 Standard will look any different after you transfer it to video and watched on a HD TV?

About QUICKTIME:
Is this the best program to use in transforming all these pics into a timelapse video? How do you go about this process with QUICKTIME?
Curtis Shillington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2007, 05:46 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Niagara Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,121
What are the steps to achieve time lapse with the HC1?
David Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2007, 07:21 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
To do timelapse with the HC1 you have a couple of options:

1-easiest and cheapest way is to record a full 60 min tape then speed it up in post production to about 2 minutes....

2-you will need an intervolometer to control the camcorder to take photo's .....you can use software on your computer.....or a http://www.bmumford.com/photo/camctlr.html after you have all your pictures you put them together in post production.....

3-get a http://www.focusinfo.com/solutions/catalog.asp?id=149
Curtis Shillington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2007, 08:42 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Berlin, WI
Posts: 21
If you don't mind tethering to a laptop, HDV Rack 2 (now released by Adobe) has a time lapse recording feature. I haven't used it but I believe it records directly to video so you wouldn't have to convert from a sequence of images.
Sean Schult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 03:05 AM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Vienna
Posts: 18
Does the HC1 dont have an own function for this?
The DCR-HC96 has one.
I recently did a review on this:
http://babelfish.altavista.com/babel...%26Itemid%3d28
__________________
Sony DCR-HC96 Blog: http://hc96.myblog.de/
www.hc96.de
Peter Hofbauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 08:33 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Hofbauer View Post
Does the HC1 dont have an own function for this?
The DCR-HC96 has one.
I recently did a review on this:
http://babelfish.altavista.com/babel...%26Itemid%3d28
Yes the HC96 has a really good time lapse function.....but they took this option off almost all of their camcorder. Their is only a handful of 'older' model sony camcorders which include this function. I have the DCR-PC350 which also has this time lapse function.
Curtis Shillington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 09:20 AM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Vienna
Posts: 18
Can you record frames separatly?
The function is could "Frame Rec". The Idea: program a PDA with IR to control the camera and record in intervals.
__________________
Sony DCR-HC96 Blog: http://hc96.myblog.de/
www.hc96.de
Peter Hofbauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 09:37 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Hofbauer View Post
Does the HC1 dont have an own function for this?
The DCR-HC96 has one.
I recently did a review on this:
http://babelfish.altavista.com/babel...%26Itemid%3d28

Yes! The HC-1 has an intervalometer function in the still photo menu.

Last edited by James Bresnahan; March 1st, 2007 at 09:38 AM. Reason: typo
James Bresnahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 06:31 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Vienna
Posts: 18
In tape-mode or only in memory-mode?
__________________
Sony DCR-HC96 Blog: http://hc96.myblog.de/
www.hc96.de
Peter Hofbauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2007, 08:30 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 30
Only in memory mode. I forget all the settings, but the shortest interval is 1 frame every minute.
James Bresnahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2007, 06:40 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Niagara Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,121
Anybody remember the setting or step off-hand? I took a quick look and couldn't find it - is it under Burst?
David Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2007, 08:48 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 210
Roll tape!

Unless you know relatively precisely how much interval is correct, you may want to just roll tape and do stop motion in post, as recommended above.
This way you have lots of flexibility to fit it to a scene. Especially true for things that would be a hassle to re-shoot.

Calculating this for stills is as much art as science, IMO
James Harring is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:18 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network