Connecting the Sony HD1000 to an Apple iMac at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-HD1000

Sony HVR-HD1000
Sony's single-CMOS shoulder mount HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 25th, 2008, 09:09 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Coral Springs, Florida
Posts: 144
Connecting the Sony HD1000 to an Apple iMac

Since the Sony HD1000 only has HDMI or iLink Outputs - Any suggestions on how to connect to an Apple imac that only uses FireWire 800?

Is there a HDMI to FW800 converter or am I only stuck with using a Mac Pro with a Black Magic Intensity HDMI Card?

Thanks.

I cant seem to import any video footage on to my iMac.
__________________
Sony HDR-AX2000 Mac Pro 8 Core w/30" Cinema Display & Final Cut Pro X
Johnnie Caraballo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2008, 11:06 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA, United States
Posts: 790
You can connect the 'iLink' cable (which is Sony's name for a FireWire 400 cable) to the FireWire 400 port on your Mac. If your 400 port is already taken up, you can get a 400 to 800 adapter.
Edward Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2008, 11:09 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Coral Springs, Florida
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Carlson View Post
You can connect the 'iLink' cable (which is Sony's name for a FireWire 400 cable) to the FireWire 400 port on your Mac. If your 400 port is already taken up, you can get a 400 to 800 adapter.
The Sony iLink Cable has very small ends. Neither end is a "IEEE or Firewire 400/800". Both ends on the cable are very very tiny. Which of course doesn't plug anywhere into my iMac :(
__________________
Sony HDR-AX2000 Mac Pro 8 Core w/30" Cinema Display & Final Cut Pro X
Johnnie Caraballo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2008, 11:12 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA, United States
Posts: 790
The camera probably has a 4-pin plug. Your iMac has 6-pin (FW 400) and 9-pin (FW 800.) I don't know of any 4-pin to 9-pin cables, but I know for a fact that there are 4-pin to 6-pin cables.

FYI the reason the (I assume included) cable has both 4-pin ends is that Sony's laptops have a 4-pin connection (as do others.) Most add-on cards for PCs have 4-pin plugs as well. The benefit of a 6- or 9-pin plug is that they carry power to the device for portable hard drives and such.
Edward Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2008, 11:19 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Coral Springs, Florida
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Carlson View Post
The camera probably has a 4-pin plug. Your iMac has 6-pin (FW 400) and 9-pin (FW 800.) I don't know of any 4-pin to 9-pin cables, but I know for a fact that there are 4-pin to 6-pin cables.

FYI the reason the (I assume included) cable has both 4-pin ends is that Sony's laptops have a 4-pin connection (as do others.) Most add-on cards for PCs have 4-pin plugs as well. The benefit of a 6- or 9-pin plug is that they carry power to the device for portable hard drives and such.
Thank you - I will look for a 4-pin to 6-pin cable at Best Buy or Circuit City in the morning. By the way, Do you know of any HDMI to FW800 cables that exist?
__________________
Sony HDR-AX2000 Mac Pro 8 Core w/30" Cinema Display & Final Cut Pro X
Johnnie Caraballo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2008, 11:29 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA, United States
Posts: 790
No. For HDMI I think you will need the BlackMagic card.
Edward Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2008, 11:32 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Coral Springs, Florida
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Carlson View Post
No. For HDMI I think you will need the BlackMagic card.
Yup you are correct! Just confirmed that by searching online. In order for me to use that card I would need a Mac Pro and get rid of the iMac.
__________________
Sony HDR-AX2000 Mac Pro 8 Core w/30" Cinema Display & Final Cut Pro X
Johnnie Caraballo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2008, 04:13 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Coral Springs, Florida
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnnie Caraballo View Post
Yup you are correct! Just confirmed that by searching online. In order for me to use that card I would need a Mac Pro and get rid of the iMac.
I just got a New 8 Core Mac Pro with 30" Cinema Display.
Black Magic Intensity Pro card ordered and on the way!!









__________________
Sony HDR-AX2000 Mac Pro 8 Core w/30" Cinema Display & Final Cut Pro X
Johnnie Caraballo is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-HD1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:23 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network