V1 audio problem vindication at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 11th, 2007, 12:29 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Alexander, NC
Posts: 188
V1 audio problem vindication

Some of you may recall my dissatisfaction with the V1's audio after first purchasing the camera back in late July, early August. It was just was too insensitive in my opinion.

This morning, I got my V1 back from Sony after 35 days (slooooow). In fixing the problem I had send it in for, they replaced the main board and the mechanism inside.

After running a number of tests with all my favorite microphones, I am pleased to report it now works at the levels I expected it to in the first place.

In other words, the original camera musta been a lemon and replacing the main board brought it into spec.

So, I wasn't crazy after all, appearances aside. ;-)

--Ralph
__________________
--Ralph Roberts, CEO
1VIDeo / aBOOKS / Creativity, Inc.
Ralph Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2007, 04:20 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 844
now that is an interesting report.

In my opinion, i think its more likely that Sony have made a conscious design (maybe firmware, maybe hardware) change to the sound section since introducing this machine. Sony tend not to 'advertise' changes like this.

So thanks for that report - informative!
Stu Holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2007, 10:08 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph Roberts View Post
After running a number of tests with all my favorite microphones, I am pleased to report it now works at the levels I expected it to in the first place.
Are you now setting the manual dial to 7ish, as reported re your other cameras, to get a similar level? Is an audio level of 0db on your camera now coming up as 0db in your NLE?

How about the headphone level; was this ever a problem for you, that is now fixed?


btw, does anyone know what the "ns" stands for in the display ns48k? The manual leads me to expect fs48k!!
Alnoor Dewshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2007, 08:07 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
To all the questions Alnoor asked, I'd like to add this one: do you find the audio not only louder, but also more reach in the bass department now?
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 09:25 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Alexander, NC
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alnoor Dewshi View Post
Are you now setting the manual dial to 7ish, as reported re your other cameras, to get a similar level? Is an audio level of 0db on your camera now coming up as 0db in your NLE?

How about the headphone level; was this ever a problem for you, that is now fixed?


btw, does anyone know what the "ns" stands for in the display ns48k? The manual leads me to expect fs48k!!
yes, the audio levels on the camera are now the same in Premiere Pro CS3 after I capture the video. That's the way I THOUGHT it should work and now it does. ;-)

I never had any problems with headphone levels then or now.

--Ralph
__________________
--Ralph Roberts, CEO
1VIDeo / aBOOKS / Creativity, Inc.
Ralph Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 09:27 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Alexander, NC
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piotr Wozniacki View Post
To all the questions Alnoor asked, I'd like to add this one: do you find the audio not only louder, but also more reach in the bass department now?
It's about the same ... what I've started doing (did this for the first time on a job this weekend) is also record audio on a Zoom H4 recorder. Get full, rich real stereo and synch it with the V1 video in post production. Nice!

--Ralph
__________________
--Ralph Roberts, CEO
1VIDeo / aBOOKS / Creativity, Inc.
Ralph Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 09:28 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Apple Valley CA
Posts: 4,866
sounds like your camera came from the factory with a monkey on it's back...
Dave Blackhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 10:45 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph Roberts View Post
yes, the audio levels on the camera are now the same in Premiere Pro CS3 after I capture the video. That's the way I THOUGHT it should work and now it does. ;-)
Glad to hear it.
I was wondering if you found the V1 less sensitive with the same mic as your other cameras?
Alnoor Dewshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2007, 05:54 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Alexander, NC
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alnoor Dewshi View Post
Glad to hear it.
I was wondering if you found the V1 less sensitive with the same mic as your other cameras?
not any more, so maybe the repair time was worth it after all.....

....
........

no! ;-(

but the V1 is working very sweetly now. We shot almost five hours of video with it over the weekend and got some great stuff.

--Ralph
__________________
--Ralph Roberts, CEO
1VIDeo / aBOOKS / Creativity, Inc.
Ralph Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2007, 08:11 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: new york city, new york
Posts: 574
ralph-

glad the audio is working well on your v1. nothing ruins a shoot like poor audio.

care to share with us how u use the zoom h4 recorder? are u using this device in talking head interviews? stage presentations? weddings? musical events?

if u can describe your workflow, there might be others who can appreciate how the zoom h4 is a solution to some of the v1's vexing audio concerns.

thanks in advance

be well

rob


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph Roberts View Post
It's about the same ... what I've started doing (did this for the first time on a job this weekend) is also record audio on a Zoom H4 recorder. Get full, rich real stereo and synch it with the V1 video in post production. Nice!

--Ralph
Rob Katz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:10 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network