BITC window dubs from V1? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 10th, 2008, 09:55 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 211
BITC window dubs from V1?

Does anyone know how to make the V1's viewfinder data (specifically, time code) appear on an external monitor in VCR playback mode?

I've been shooting a lot of HDV interviews this summer with my V1. In addition to transcription services, I need to provide my client with burned in time code (BITC) window dubs of the footage so that he can make informed decisions about clips and cutting points. I have a DVD burner with iLink for standard def copying ... and I've found how to display the V1's viewfinder information on an external monitor during recording. But I haven't figured out how to output this information in VCR mode.

Unfortunately, the only option for me is to bring the tapes to an edit/dupe facility for traditional BITC window dubs to DVD at an unfriendly cost. Does anyone know what menu this function is hiding in, or if it's possible without a 3rd party solution? Thanks!
Sam Renkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2008, 11:19 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,369
use the analogue video out and from menu chose display tc.

i'll warn you in advance, there is NO batch capture with hdv. i work a lot of paper cut edl's, and with hdv i have (usually) no option other than grabbing the whole tape.

real pita.

leslie
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2008, 01:37 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 211
Leslie -

In VCR mode, the DISPLAY SET menu provides the following options:

DATA CODE (off, date, camera data)
DISPLAY OUTPUT (LCD panel, V-out/panel)

With "camera data" and "V-out/panel" selected, I can get camera info to appear onscreen via analog output (f stop, gain, shutter speed, audio levels) but no TC.

Is there another menu option I'm missing? Thanks!

Sam
Sam Renkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2008, 04:14 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 211
Well ain't this a kick ...

The V1 will send TC info to an external monitor through the composite out connector but not the firewire iLink connector ...!!! Makes no sense, I can burn a window dub but with none of the iLink connectivity features. Kind of a pain, and lower quality too.

Oh well - glad to sort that out!
Sam Renkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2008, 06:34 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,369
sorry sam, that's as good as it gets ;-(

mind you, i would never want to send 'pristine' footage out - i much prefer the reaction to the finished quality than have them take it for granted ;-p

good luck

leslie
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network