Sony V1 With Sony Memory Record Unit at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 1st, 2008, 10:30 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 506
Sony V1 With Sony Memory Record Unit

Now that Sony is marketing the HVR-MRC1K CF Recorder that comes with the Z7 by itself to be used with other cameras has anybody used it with a V1?
D.J. Ammons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2008, 01:26 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Posts: 326
Thanks for the post. I didn't know this device existed. I downloaded the manual and it states

the unit can be connected to a computer or camcorder via the HVRA-CR1 i-Link cradle.

The web page states

For all other existing Sony professional HDV and DVCAM users, the HVR-MRC1K comes supplied with a mounting bracket to mount the unit on the accessory shoe of the camcorder.

I assume that you would connect a FireWire cable from the V1U to the HVRA-CR1 cradle. I'll bet that you could do simultaneous recording, but I'm not sure that the V1U's record button would start both tape and external recorder and that the timecode would match on both. Perhaps it would work like the 60Gig external hard drive used with the V1. Anybody know?
__________________
www.leebergermedia.com
Lee Berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2008, 09:23 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 506
Lee,

It is not in my budget right now but definitely on my want list. Looks like a 16gb CF card will get you 72 minutes of HDV and a 32gib one 144 minutes.

I am looking for somethig to get me past the one hour recording time of HDV tape without risking the dropouts associated with the 83 minute tapes.

B&H has it for $849 and the DVW advertisement in the latest industry magazines says "under $800". Seems like quite the bargain to me.

I found 16gb CF cards for under fifty bucks and 32gb ones for under $100
D.J. Ammons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2008, 10:11 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Placentia, Calif
Posts: 549
I was at The DV Expo and Sony indicated it eill go well with the V1, any HDV setup, with firewire. This is a nice setup!
Hugh Mobley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2008, 11:08 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by D.J. Ammons View Post
It is not in my budget right now but definitely on my want list.
D.J.
It's not in my budget right now either, but something to consider in the future.
__________________
www.leebergermedia.com
Lee Berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2008, 08:36 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Berger View Post
Thanks for the post. I didn't know this device existed. I downloaded the manual and it states

the unit can be connected to a computer or camcorder via the HVRA-CR1 i-Link cradle.

The web page states

For all other existing Sony professional HDV and DVCAM users, the HVR-MRC1K comes supplied with a mounting bracket to mount the unit on the accessory shoe of the camcorder.

I assume that you would connect a FireWire cable from the V1U to the HVRA-CR1 cradle. I'll bet that you could do simultaneous recording, but I'm not sure that the V1U's record button would start both tape and external recorder and that the timecode would match on both. Perhaps it would work like the 60Gig external hard drive used with the V1. Anybody know?
I tested the unit before I sold my V1's I think the record button does activate the MRC1K. I also tested on a Canon v30 you have to push the play and record button on the unit to start recording.
Brian Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2008, 03:52 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 85
Got mine the other day and it works great with my V1. Sits up on top and is perfect for replaying shot instantly on set - no having to rewind a cue a hdv tape. It is a great accessory for the camera.

Yes the cameras record button does start both the tape and the recorder if both are set to the right mode.

Not sure about the timecode as my tape drive doesn't work properly on my camera due to water damage.
Logan McMillan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2008, 11:18 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Posts: 326
Can the CF cards be read in a standard CF card reader, or do I need to use the unit to transfer video?
John Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2008, 06:38 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Cline View Post
Can the CF cards be read in a standard CF card reader, or do I need to use the unit to transfer video?
Standard CF card reader will work.
Brian Rhodes is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:16 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network