Changing HDV footage to ACVHD; possible? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 10th, 2009, 05:11 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Traverse City, Michigan
Posts: 416
Changing HDV footage to ACVHD; possible?

I have two cams, the SR11 and the FX7. I can successfully combine the footage of both cams into one program and burn an SD DVD. But, can I combine the footage from both cams and burn an AVCHD DVD? I do not have a BR burner yet.
I have both Pinnacle 12 and the latest version of Nero. I will try to do this in a couple of days, but I am interested in whether anyone else has done this, and what the process was like and the what the results were like.

Thanks.
Mike
Mike Burgess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2009, 05:23 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
what nle are you using?

opps - pinnacle 12. can't you simply edit your mixed bag then render to avchd from timeline?
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2009, 06:59 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Traverse City, Michigan
Posts: 416
Don't know. That is what I will be trying in a couple of days.

Mike
Mike Burgess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2009, 11:53 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Apple Valley CA
Posts: 4,866
It's doable in Vegas - just put both formats on the timeline, render to whatever format you want... may take a while to render, and remember the 1440 vs. 1920, I seem to remember having a bit of trouble with that, but nothing serious, and now I'm all AVCHD 1920, I don't worry about it...
Dave Blackhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2009, 04:04 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: England
Posts: 444
i find pinnacle will mix the footage on my pc as long as there are no titles so thats not good plus on my pc the avchd loses a lot of resolution.
Martyn Hull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2009, 04:23 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martyn Hull View Post
i find pinnacle will mix the footage on my pc as long as there are no titles so thats not good plus on my pc the avchd loses a lot of resolution.
no titles!? joke of an nle.

pc has nothing to do with loss of quality. try another nle.

i use vegas quite happily, i have friends who use adobe, avid and fcp, and we all can edit avchd (to one degree or another).

download trial versions and have a quick play.

leslie
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2009, 08:58 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Traverse City, Michigan
Posts: 416
Interesting replies. Thanks guys, for your input. I will doing my first test this afternoon, using first Pinnacle 12, and then later, I will try again using Nero. After DVDs have been burned and results seen on my 42" 720 plasma, I will post my impressions.

As a side, it is interesting that I did an SD DVD using both the footage from the SR11 and the FX7 and the SR11 looked a bit better. Both cams were set on all automatic exposures, etc. The way my son described it was that the SR11 footage looked almost glossy while the FX7 footage looked flat. My description was that the FX7 looked softer than the SR11. In a month or two when the weather improves, I will shoot some stuff with the FX7 and SR11, and do some manual adjustments with the FX7.

And now we return you to our previous program....

Mike
Mike Burgess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2009, 03:32 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Traverse City, Michigan
Posts: 416
Well, I was able to burn an AVCHD DVD containing both footage from my SR11 and from an FX7. I used Nero to accomplish this. As with my experience burning an SD DVD with these two cams, the SR11 seemed slightly clearer and more "punchier" colors than the FX7. The sound was fantistic with both. Again, both cams were set on automatic everthing.
One question for anyone who has the knowledge of Nero and an FX7: When capturing video from the cam, it automatically captures as an AVI file. Is this the best way to capture from the FX7, giving the best results? I tried to change it to MPEG2, but could not get any captured audio. The video from both seemed no different.

Mike
Mike Burgess is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network