macro not working at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 26th, 2009, 08:31 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wellington New Zealand
Posts: 57
macro not working

I used the macro function on my v1 the other day for the first time... worked fine... but now I don't seem to be able to get macro working again. Go into the menu, select macro, but when I manually focus I just get the 'portrait' icon if I try to go below 80cm. Is there something I'm doing wrong or is my camera a little bit busted? Seems to behave the same whether i have macro on or off.
Leonie Reynolds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2009, 05:53 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Antrim, Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,569
Leonie,

I've just checked that with my V1.

Are you absolutely sure that the LCD doesn't show the Macro Off (little flower with "off" beside it) along the bottom? I always find it very counter-intuitive that there's an icon to show macro off rather than macro on.

If not, are you sure you're not in auto-focus mode or the camera hasn't got locked into full auto mode by mistake?
__________________
Irish Railway Videos on Youtube
Mike Beckett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2009, 05:28 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wellington New Zealand
Posts: 57
Oh. Right.

Duh...

Yep, was in autofocus mode. Actually I didn't realise that meant macro wouldn't work. Thanks...
Leonie Reynolds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2009, 07:10 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Aurora, IN
Posts: 45
Macro off

Good Job Mike!
Garry Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2009, 03:16 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Antrim, Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,569
Such a pain... I have been caught out *so* many times.

And not to mention the image stabilizer... I am always forgetting to turn that off when I'm on the tripod, the number of times I've ruined a pan or tilt with that.
__________________
Irish Railway Videos on Youtube
Mike Beckett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2009, 04:51 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Beckett View Post
And not to mention the image stabilizer... I am always forgetting to turn that off when I'm on the tripod, the number of times I've ruined a pan or tilt with that.
I too get caught, but I assigned the stabilizer to the middle assign button (the one with the raised dot) and I try to look for the symbol in the viewfinder.
__________________
www.leebergermedia.com
Lee Berger is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:42 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network