V1 not detected by Mac - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 12th, 2009, 01:01 PM   #16
Inner Circle
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,460
If your LCD is flashing DV rather than HDV then obviously your cam is in DV mode, so an HDV project won't see it. You still haven't told us what your project settings are so there's no way to know for sure.

You say your footage was shot in HDV, but your cam is telling you otherwise. Are you sure? Did you mix DV and HDV on the same tape? Is VCR HDV/DV set to HDV? Are you sure i.LINK CONV is OFF? You're sure the cam is in EDIT/PLAY mode? What's your Easy Setup for FCP?

Pages 75-77 of your V1 manual.
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2009, 10:21 AM   #17
New Boot
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Scranton
Posts: 7
The footage was shot in DV, not in HDV. I'm sorry if I stated otherwise. I'll post project settings when I get back from work.
Chris Barrows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2009, 11:35 AM   #18
Regular Crew
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 40

I was under the assumption that you were working with HDV footage. With DV footage, then that would change most of the settings that I had previously posted, and may explain why the camera continues to not be recognized by your mac.

I haven't really used my V1U for DV capture and export, so I don't have any experience with it. However, I may be able to try some previously captured DV footage from my old trusty TRV900 and pop the tape into my V1U and see if I can export it or not.

Did you capture in standard DV SP or DVCAM? It probably shouldn't make any difference, but I know all of my content is DV SP, so any test that I would perform would be with that content.

You should also connect the camera, and see if it shows up on the firewire bus, via the "About This Mac", then "More Info...", then check the "Firewire" bus and see if the camera shows as connected to the bus. Ensure that the camera is connected and powered via previously posted process, and I would not have FCP started until after you have verified the camera shows on the bus. If you don't see it, I would refresh the system profiler, and if you still don't see it, perform one more reboot (leaving the camera on and in VCR mode), and see if it shows up. Mine was a little temperamental the first couple of times, but always shows up now.
Jeff Allen is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:06 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network