HVR-V1U: A First Look, by D.S.E. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 19th, 2006, 01:41 PM   #1
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
HVR-V1U: A First Look, by D.S.E.

Thanks for submitting this, Spot!

http://www.hdvinfo.net/articles/sony/firstlookv1u.php
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2006, 01:51 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Illinois
Posts: 888
sounds pretty good and no in camera mic. I like that too.
Bob Zimmerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2006, 01:56 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Para2 seems to show 24p movement jitter, or than the para1. Were they shot or processed different ? Or is that just me...
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2006, 02:11 PM   #4
Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 71
Great!!! Everything I have been looking for. Any idea on shipping date and MSRP?
__________________
Land of Enchantment, New Mexico
Aaron Frick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2006, 02:13 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
December 2006, about $ 4,800 msrp.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2006, 02:42 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 71
60p?

So the press release claims 60P but DSE doesn't mention it. Is the official spec sheet out?
Xavier Etown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2006, 02:52 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xavier Etown
So the press release claims 60P but DSE doesn't mention it. Is the official spec sheet out?
Probably because there's no way for the camcorder to output 1080p60.

-Steve
Steven White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2006, 02:57 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 844
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xavier Etown
So the press release claims 60P but DSE doesn't mention it. Is the official spec sheet out?
I saw that too and I'm 99% certain thats simply an error in the press release (surprising i have to say!).

its 60i and not 60p.

Here's a spec sheet for V1U :
http://bssc.sel.sony.com/Broadcastan...-V1U/spec.html
Stu Holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2006, 03:20 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 204
I am concerned that 960x1080 is not a self consistant resolution for the diagonal pixel arangement, and that no mention has been made to confirm or deny that the unit suffers from the same (ClearVid intrinsic) diagonal resolution problems of the HC3.

Douglas, are you willing/allowed to comment on these?
Marvin Emms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2006, 03:42 PM   #10
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barcellos
Para2 seems to show 24p movement jitter, or than the para1. Were they shot or processed different ? Or is that just me...
Something is up with Para2. It looks like somehow pulldown to 29.97 interlace got added, and then when resized down to 1280x720 and 23.98 fields got blended.

Para 1 looks superb though. Resized down to 720p it looks nicer and more refined than my HD100 ever did. I would consider Para1 to be the one we should be looking at, and ignore Para2 for the time being.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2006, 03:51 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu Holmes
I saw that too and I'm 99% certain thats simply an error in the press release (surprising i have to say!).

its 60i and not 60p.

Here's a spec sheet for V1U :
http://bssc.sel.sony.com/Broadcastan...-V1U/spec.html

Is it possible 60p is going to be available by upgrade in the future- by some sort of an upgrade when and if that format becomes more standard??.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2006, 04:24 PM   #12
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barcellos
Is it possible 60p is going to be available by upgrade in the future- by some sort of an upgrade when and if that format becomes more standard??.
There is no 60p output on this product. It internally processes at 60p, but the only output is 1080/60i (whether 24p embedded in 60i, 30p embedded in 60i, or 60i as 60i).
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2006, 04:44 PM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Green
There is no 60p output on this product. It internally processes at 60p, but the only output is 1080/60i (whether 24p embedded in 60i, 30p embedded in 60i, or 60i as 60i).
Barry:

I understand, and I don't pretend to understand the technical side of it. So you experts will know this better than I. But what I was trying to find out is that with the available onboard processing capability, could an upgrade in the on board software, be accomplished by some upgrade process, and if so, does the camera have the hardware to get it out. Edit: I think I remember Canon offering some upgrade recently like that...

I think I read your response to mean "no way".
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2006, 05:24 PM   #14
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
Well, there's no way to know. There is no 1080/60p format out there, there's no broadcast standard for it, so I doubt they've designed an upgrade path for something that doesn't exist yet. Possible but I'd be surprised.

Now, if Juan at www.reel-stream.com were to Andromedize this, then there'd be a way to get 60p out of it, but other than that it's doubtful.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2006, 05:42 PM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
I'm guessing 60p's primary benefit would be for better slow motion production. Could the human eye really tell the difference between 30 full frames per second and 60 fps ? I kind of doubt it since, there is such a marked difference between 24 fps and 30 fps.

The way I see it, the real promising aspect of this camera is getting 30 and 24p into the HDV 1440 x 1080 frame without loss of resolution?
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:00 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network