Audio at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 21st, 2006, 02:32 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 477
Audio

Is the audio sampling rate the same as other HDV cams?
Andrew Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2006, 08:19 PM   #2
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Yes. The HDV audio standard is mpeg1 layer II audio, 48k/16bit, at 384Kpbs
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2006, 11:54 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 477
Thanks DSE!!

By the way, liked your review of this cam in the October issue of Studio Monthly. Seems like those ClearVid CMOS sensors paired with the Carl Ziess optics produce a pretty good picture.

Maybe they can enhance the audio section next?!
Andrew Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2006, 12:17 AM   #4
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Not sure what you mean by "enhance the audio section next..."

All digital video is sampled at 48k/16 bit.
Where HDV is unique is that it's a compressed audio format of MPEG1/LayerII audio.
For dialog and general use, I'd wager a fair bet that you (and no one else) cannot distinguish the difference between uncompressed and HDV audio. If we're talking about high dynamic/wide bandwidth audio, I wouldn't use an uncompressed recording from a camcorder anyway. The DACs in virtually all camcorders leave a lot to be desired.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2006, 12:22 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 477
So what's the major difference between PCM audio and MPEG1/Layer II audio? Is it just the bit rate?
Andrew Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2006, 12:32 AM   #6
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Clark
So what's the major difference between PCM audio and MPEG1/Layer II audio? Is it just the bit rate?
PCM audio is uncompressed. MPEG audio is compressed. HDV audio is akin to extremely high bitrate MP3.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2006, 12:38 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 477
Thanks again DSE; appreciate you sharing your knowledge for newbie's like myself!!
Andrew Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2006, 10:50 AM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douglas Spotted Eagle
For dialog and general use, I'd wager a fair bet that you (and no one else) cannot distinguish the difference between uncompressed and HDV audio. If we're talking about high dynamic/wide bandwidth audio, I wouldn't use an uncompressed recording from a camcorder anyway. The DACs in virtually all camcorders leave a lot to be desired.
Is there, or will there ever, be a way to sync the V1 with an external audio recorder (e.g., my sound devices 744t)? Perhaps a box that will extract the time code that is sent to the DR60? MPEG1/LayerII really screws up the rapid modulations in many bird songs - of which the accurate recording of is admittedly not "general use".
Brian S. Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2006, 06:38 PM   #9
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douglas Spotted Eagle
Where HDV is unique is that it's a compressed audio format of MPEG1/LayerII audio.
JVC's 19Mbps ProHD has room in the tape track for two PCM audio channels. There is no room in 25Mbps HDV.

XDCAM HD has PCM audio.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c

Last edited by Steve Mullen; October 23rd, 2006 at 01:36 AM.
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2006, 11:27 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 595
Brian, you could always send the timecode as an audio signal to the V1. There are devices out there that allow you to do that. Someone else may be able to fill you in on the specifics.
Chris Hocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2006, 06:24 AM   #11
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 3
I assume from this thread that there is no practical way to derive the TC from the lanc output (at least not until someone makes a little black box)?

I'd have to consider this to be handicap for anyone needing to TC sync a decent audio recorder.

I bring this up because one possible project on the horizon that may bring me back into the "biz" would be producing a series of music performance DVDs (and I know without a doubt that the HDV spec is not the best for high-quality audio).

I had read about the capability (but never saw it demoed) that two or more ZI's could be TC synced with one remote control. That would certainly make a master and a b-roll camera footage easy to line up for editing.

I'm wondering if the V1 has this feature also?

But getting back to the audio -- several choices would be the new Tascam TC recorder, maybe the Motu Traveler (feeding a robust notebook) for more than 2 channels, etc.

With the Cannon's TC output, plus the brand new JVC, such a setup would be easy to do.

I know you can clap a stick before each take and start sync that way, but can you maintain over a long set? I'd feel much more confident with TC-enabled dual system audio (you know, like the old movie days).
Marshall Ewig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2006, 08:06 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 595
Marshall, I believe the V1 actually has some more advanced timecode features than the Z1, and you can actually "sync" the cameras together via the firewire cable. I guess you should check the manual (or the V1 forum) for specifics.

Also, have a look at this device (Lanc MIDI Time Code Generator):

http://www.avitresearch.co.uk/lancmtc.htm
Chris Hocking is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:22 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network