Shot transition feature? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 21st, 2006, 03:22 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 621
Shot transition feature?

I was reading about this feature in the owner's manual (thanks, Spot, for posting this in the sticky above!) Basically sounds like a way to "script" a complex, evolving shot, using programmable settings for rack focus, zoom, iris and other settings.

In the words of my six-year-old, "Keeeewwwwwwlllll!"

Anyone had a chance to play with this, yet? Does it work as advertised?
Brian Standing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2006, 03:38 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 265
This feature is also on the Z1U and does work as advertised. I used it plenty for estabishing shots for weddings. Very nice.

Todd
Todd Giglio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2006, 04:56 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northampton, England
Posts: 500
The shot transition feature (if it is the same as the Z1) is almost like having someone to pull focus for you.

You can set your starting shot and ending shot, hit the button and all you have to do is move the tripod. Really professional looking moves, racks, zooms. It really is one of the best features, and one I severely miss on my Canon A1.

I hope they've retained the two settings, on the Z1 you can swap between two different stored shots - great for switching between a wide and a close on interviews.
__________________
Alex
Alex Leith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2006, 05:04 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 451
I wish the remote commander could be used to start the transition thus avoiding any chance of shake especially on a long zoom.

TT
Tony Tremble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2006, 05:37 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northampton, England
Posts: 500
I always wondered why camera manufacturers continue to support LANC, when a USB camera remote could potentially support so many more functions.

You're right - a remote shot transition button would be "heaven".
__________________
Alex
Alex Leith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2006, 05:58 PM   #6
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Tremble
I wish the remote commander could be used to start the transition thus avoiding any chance of shake especially on a long zoom.

TT
Chris -- can we start a sticky of desired improvements. This one really is critical. I don't have a remote with my prototype, but are owners of the new one sure no button will work as a trigger.

I want:

1) the Zoom ring to also be capable of Exposure or at least Iris control -- like the Canon A1.

2) a small orange tick on the histogram at 100IRE that's always on.

3) E1 and E2 modes where you CAN set shutter-speed.

4) Color temp adjustment on INDOOR, not just OUTDOOR.

5) Ability to snap photos in 24p and 30p.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c

Last edited by Steve Mullen; December 22nd, 2006 at 01:16 PM.
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2006, 10:26 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Efland NC, USA
Posts: 2,315
I played with the shot transition feature some last night. I love what it does for sure.

A question I have is why did they make the minimum time 3.5sec?

Obviously the camera can move faster than that.

This feature would be GREAT (in my application) to set a focus and zoom point down a straight on a track waiting for a car to come into view and then follow it manually. 3.5 seconds is way too long to wait for the camera to reset though.

I also think it would make for a nice effect if the camera could be set to literally SNAP between two defined focus points.

Am I thinking right here?
__________________
http://www.LandYachtMedia.com
Chris Medico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2006, 10:43 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northampton, England
Posts: 500
Once nice advantage of the Z1's weird zoom ring system...

You could frame wide, click the zoom button across to "lever", and then crank the zoom ring all the way in. When you click the zoom button back to "ring" the camera snap zooms from your current position to the zoom ring setting.

I've used that and the shot transition to get four preset shots in a sequence:

Shot 1 - starting shot
Shot 2 - zoom button across to "ring" for a snap zoom to the zoom ring position.
Shot 3 - hit transition button A to get first programmed shot.
Shot 4 - hit transition button B to get second programmed shot.
__________________
Alex
Alex Leith is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:17 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network