Cineform products support V1 24p at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 27th, 2006, 03:08 PM   #1
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Cineform products support V1 24p

Because Cineform products support V1 24p, Premiere Pro also supports 24p. So now there are 3 products.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2006, 03:37 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 505
Anyone tested this out with PP and V1?
Greg Quinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2006, 07:06 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Daily.
I'm using in V7c at the moment, but also have Avid, Edius, and PP2.0 loaded on this machine. PP2 and Vegas work flawlessly. I've just finished capturing 47 tapes from the V1 shot over the course of 5 days in rain, high speed flight, motorcycles, dark of night, etc. I have 4 V7 projects, all 10 hours each in length, all to be used as rough cut fodder for a 3 hour project. I've captured about half of the footage in CineForm, the rest are raw m2t
(the difference being that the night shots will be undergoing significant treatment/processing).

The CineForm group might be very small, but they are incredibly talented, and virtually every rev they've ever put out has been a leap and bound over the previous. Can you tell I'm a huge fan of their work? :-)
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2006, 08:18 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 735
Awesome. I've been waiting for someone to say that.

DSE, Can I confirm - you're using PP2, but are you using any of the extra 'upgrades' from Cineform, like Aspect HD or anything? I can't afford to pay for their extras so I'm just using PPro by itself - and in fact I'm using PP1.5.1 - is it safe to assume I'll be just as successful with 24p (and 25p for that matter)?

Thanks!
John Hewat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2006, 12:35 AM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Douglas, thank you for your kind comments.

For Premiere Pro 1.5.1 you are looking at Aspect HD, for PPro 2.0 either Aspect HD or for highend work Prospect HD/2K. All our products support 24/25P for all HDV and P2 cameras.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2006, 01:13 AM   #6
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Hewat
Awesome. I've been waiting for someone to say that.

DSE, Can I confirm - you're using PP2, but are you using any of the extra 'upgrades' from Cineform, like Aspect HD or anything? I can't afford to pay for their extras so I'm just using PPro by itself - and in fact I'm using PP1.5.1 - is it safe to assume I'll be just as successful with 24p (and 25p for that matter)?

Thanks!
No "extras" but just plain ole Aspect HD. I don't have the Prospect upgrade. It's a great tool, but I just don't need it for the majority of my workflow. The magic is in the codec, the rest is merely "helpful."
I understand not affording the Aspect HD plug, but trust me, you'll be MUCH happier using it than not. I don't know why Adobe is no longer putting this in the box, but it's an important part of the workflow, IMO. There are significant benefits to the application, so leave a soda or two out of your daily diet, and grab the Aspect HD app if you're doing much work with HDV.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2006, 02:19 AM   #7
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douglas Spotted Eagle
There are significant benefits to the application, so leave a soda or two out of your daily diet, and grab the Aspect HD app if you're doing much work with HDV.
Spot, does Vegas 7's capture function support conversion to CFHD or does one still need to capture using the Cineform application?
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2006, 03:04 AM   #8
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
No, Vegas captures the raw m2t only. You'd need to use Connect HD if you want to convert on the fly/during capture. Vegas doesn't offer any codec choices during capture, it's based on the hardware you have (if you're using SDI) or the format coming down the firewire pipe.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2006, 03:49 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douglas Spotted Eagle
I understand not affording the Aspect HD plug, but trust me, you'll be MUCH happier using it than not.
Hmm... I understand that that may be the case, but is it absolutely essential for the workflow? Or simply a huge benefit?
John Hewat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2006, 05:47 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Hewat
Hmm... I understand that that may be the case, but is it absolutely essential for the workflow? Or simply a huge benefit?
Since Cineform provide a trial you could easily see if there is a benefit to YOUR own workflow.

I am a FCP user absolutely looking forward to getting hold of Cineform QT. Can't come soon enough! :)
Tony Tremble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2006, 12:46 PM   #11
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Hewat
Hmm... I understand that that may be the case, but is it absolutely essential for the workflow? Or simply a huge benefit?
If you're compositing and working with AE, I'd say it's essential. If you're merely editing, it's just a huge benefit.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2006, 05:08 PM   #12
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Hewat
Hmm... I understand that that may be the case, but is it absolutely essential for the workflow? Or simply a huge benefit?
It depends on your NLE.

With PP, Aspect HD provides a complete set of very high-speed FX that really make it a great solution if you use lots of FX.

With Vegas, Cineform can't supply these FX. So you use the standard Vegas FX which are, unfortunately, not as fast.

Which raises the question of how Apple will allow Cineform to function: only has yet another codec or as an additional set of high-speed FX. If only the former, the CFHD only works as a much better AIC.

Thus a second question is raised -- on a MBP 2, who has the best RT system: FCP, EDIUS, PP, or Vegas?

My testing on a 3.2GHz P4 showed EDIUS with its double buffer system was the best PC system for native, while PP with Aspect HD was the fastest intermediate.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2006, 10:13 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douglas Spotted Eagle
If you're merely editing, it's just a huge benefit.
And this is the case for 24p and 25p capture and editing? So PPro on its own can remove the pulldown?
John Hewat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2006, 11:56 PM   #14
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
No. PP currently cannot remove the pulldown, but removing the pulldown isn't *necessary*, it's just one feature that some folks want.
So if you want 24pGOP in PP right this second, you need to use CineForm or other 24pGOP-supported HDI.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2006, 10:36 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douglas Spotted Eagle
No. PP currently cannot remove the pulldown, but removing the pulldown isn't *necessary*, it's just one feature that some folks want.
So if you want 24pGOP in PP right this second, you need to use CineForm or other 24pGOP-supported HDI.
Thanks Douglas. Hopefully this will be my last question: If you want a 24p or 25p final product, you must be able to remove the pulldown from the V1's interlaced video stream? Therefore, Aspect HD is a requirement for PPro users who want 24p/25p?
John Hewat is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:52 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network