New Sample Footage at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 20th, 2007, 09:10 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mount Rainier, MD
Posts: 428
New Sample Footage

Here are some links to footage I shot in Nicaragua. I think the V1 makes some great pictures. All were shot with Cine Gamma Level 1. Manually white balanced. And shot at 30P. I'd have put more up, but man my upload speed is S-L-O-W.

http://geekstudios.com/demos/village.m2t
http://geekstudios.com/demos/church.m2t
http://geekstudios.com/demos/shoeshine.m2t
Brett Sherman is offline  
Old January 20th, 2007, 12:04 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 75
Thanks Brett ! Great footage, great colors ! It would be great to see more !

Cheers,

Kristin
Kristin Stewart is offline  
Old January 20th, 2007, 12:15 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 197
Very nice! Impressive color and detail. Thanks for posting!
C.S. Michael is offline  
Old January 20th, 2007, 03:58 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Plainview, N.Y.
Posts: 1,944
Brett, where do you have your sharpness set? The reason I'm asking is that I see no sign of edge enhancement. I'm not sure if this is a function of your sharpness setting or the progessive mode. When I shoot at default settings with my FX7 (7 sharpness), I can see EE in areas like wires against a sky.
Ken Ross is offline  
Old January 21st, 2007, 12:44 AM   #5
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Very nice! Thank you for letting folks look at your shots.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old January 21st, 2007, 04:11 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 451
Thanks for posting these 30P clips.

These look so much better than 25P. Some faith has been restored that we'll get a usable 25P some time.

Are these clips recompressed?

TT
Tony Tremble is offline  
Old January 22nd, 2007, 07:48 AM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brett Sherman
Here are some links to footage I shot in Nicaragua. I think the V1 makes some great pictures. All were shot with Cine Gamma Level 1. Manually white balanced. And shot at 30P. I'd have put more up, but man my upload speed is S-L-O-W.

http://geekstudios.com/demos/village.m2t
http://geekstudios.com/demos/church.m2t
http://geekstudios.com/demos/shoeshine.m2t

Hi Brett , I would like to view these clips very much, others on this site have been no problem, but these just come up as confused text on the web page. Can you advise or post me another link? I'm using Mac OS 1.46 Safar.
Thankyou Graham
Graham Westfield is offline  
Old January 22nd, 2007, 08:28 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mount Rainier, MD
Posts: 428
My settings were:

Color Level: +1
Color Phase: 0
Sharpness: 9
Skintone DTL: Off
WB Shift: +2
Blk Compnstn: Stretch
Cinematone Gamma: Type 1
Cinematone Color: On
Brett Sherman is offline  
Old January 22nd, 2007, 08:33 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mount Rainier, MD
Posts: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Westfield
Hi Brett , I would like to view these clips very much, others on this site have been no problem, but these just come up as confused text on the web page. Can you advise or post me another link? I'm using Mac OS 1.46 Safar.
Thankyou Graham
I created an html page. Just go to www.geekstudios.com/demos. Then you can try "Save Target" or "Save Link" to download the clips. If that doesn't work, you can always find a friend with a PC.
Brett Sherman is offline  
Old January 22nd, 2007, 12:20 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 400
First, thanks for posting the videos Brett. My favourite by far is the village clip - detail EVERYWHERE! In the highlights, in the shadows, and, most notably, there was a very detailed blue sky filling up 50% of the shot! Looked like a hot day.

Watching this video brings up a couple questions for me. I have a Mac Pro, and am a well-versed mac-user. I edit HD in FCP, and have been able to export and playback HDV.mov files whenever I want in QT Pro.

However, I can't open any m2t files in QT. Is this normal? I use VLC Player, but it's crashes 70% of the time I play any downloaded m2t file from this site's users.

To recap:

a) on a mac, what should I be using to open and play m2t files? VLC is the *only* app that works for me.

b) and since VLC provides very little information about the video I'm playing, is the resolution of the videos you posted Brett, 1920 (or 1440) by 1080? They always play at what seems to be a resolution of approx 1280x720 for me, but I can't make it go larger in VLC Player. I can't tell if you've recompressed them to a lower res or if VLC Player is messing with me.
__________________
Mac + Canon HV20
Robert Ducon is offline  
Old January 22nd, 2007, 12:31 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Ducon
However, I can't open any m2t files in QT. Is this normal? I use VLC Player, but it's crashes 70% of the time I play any downloaded m2t file from this site's users.

To recap:

a) on a mac, what should I be using to open and play m2t files? VLC is the *only* app that works for me.
Hi Robert,

I have experienced the same issue. Moreover once downloaded, the .m2t files appeared with a .txt extension. If I tried to open them with VLC, I experienced crashes, however it played - not smoothly and reporting errors in the meantime.

Here is what I did:
Apple i - to get file info. In there I removed the .txt - it was interestingly not possible just by renaming the file, or if it appeared so, the .txt extension remained there in the info panel even if on the desktop it disappeared. Also the text file kind of icon remained.

So in the file info panel I managed to remove .txt, then set VLC as the app to open all similar files.
Now if I play the files in VLC, they play nicely. I also set loop playback so I dont have to restart VLC always once the clip finishes.
I suggest also to set the the movie size to half (unless you have a large screen). On my PB this way VLC produces quite acceptable playback.
__________________
Sony XDCAM EX1r, Canon 5DMkII, Røde NTG2, Røde NT1000, Røde Stereo Videomic, Sachtler DV6 SB on Gitzo 1325V, Steadicam Merlin, Omnitracker, Hackintosh 3.5Ghz Quad 8Gb RAM
Zsolt Gordos is offline  
Old January 22nd, 2007, 12:50 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 400
Zsolt, thanks for your detailed reply. I've always renamed the files before playing. VLC still is buggy for me, on my Mac Pro there is no speed deficiency. I'd be totally open to transcoding an m2t file into a QT file, if QT would open it ;)

So there is no other player for Mac OS X? And were the videos a full HDV resolution? (1440x1080)
__________________
Mac + Canon HV20
Robert Ducon is offline  
Old January 22nd, 2007, 01:17 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Plainview, N.Y.
Posts: 1,944
Brett, I'm shocked you used a sharpness of "9" but yet there's no apparent EE. Perhaps it's the progressive mode or the small computer monitor I'm viewing it on. If I saw the same clips on my 50" plasma, perhaps they'd look different.

Nonetheless, they look great and thanks for sharing!
Ken Ross is offline  
Old January 22nd, 2007, 02:20 PM   #14
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross
Brett, I'm shocked you used a sharpness of "9" but yet there's no apparent EE. Perhaps it's the progressive mode or the small computer monitor I'm viewing it on. If I saw the same clips on my 50" plasma, perhaps they'd look different.

Nonetheless, they look great and thanks for sharing!
I'm now recommending "9" for both progressive and interlace. (Or, if you like soft progressive, "7".)

The reason is I'm now burning HD DVD discs for playback on my Toshiba HD DVD player. That means exporting VBR MPEG-2 at 25Mbps. My "7" interlace video looks a bit too soft.

Remember, while detail is unimportant going to DVDs -- it is very important for outputting HD.

Moreover, some tiny amount of EE is useful to increase apparent sharpness.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline  
Old January 22nd, 2007, 05:09 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 400
For anyone that's seen the footage: was it 1920x1080 (same as 1440x1080 for the sake of my question)? Or was it rescaled to lower dimensions? Thanks.
__________________
Mac + Canon HV20
Robert Ducon is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:32 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network