in sd mode? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 24th, 2007, 11:44 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
in sd mode?

hi,

i'm looking to shoot in sd mode. at present shooting with 170, however, i need 16:9 for tv/client company (they're not interested in hdv at the moment).

i'm not interested in shooting hd since i send tapes to station and they want dvcam/dv.

anyone have any comments to make about v1 vs fx7 vs canon a1 in sd 16:9

many thanks,

leslie
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 05:28 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
I'm not sure as I don't have the cam yet as I'm still getting my support equipment/software updated.

But I have taken some of the footage thats being posted here and its very easy to bring it all down to AVI.

If you want to play with some of the footage download Cineform Aspect for Adobe Premiere and let it un compress the mt2 file to AVI file.

Then you can edit the footage and put it back out to a SD tape.
That way you shoot in HDV, keep your original tape and distribute as SD.

The output looks great as SD this way.
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 06:48 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mount Rainier, MD
Posts: 428
My question, is why you would want to shoot in SD. Since the camera provides capabilities of down-sampling what you shoot to DV on playback, I'd shoot in HDV then make a DV dupe from the camera. You get the best of both worlds. If you ever need to go back to the HD version, you have it.
Brett Sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 08:47 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Posts: 326
Brett,
Is there any re-compression when you downsample and transfer to DV?
Lee Berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 10:21 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Berger
Brett,
Is there any re-compression when you downsample and transfer to DV?
Yes. The already compressed mpeg2 is compressed to dv.
Mikko Lopponen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 11:45 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mount Rainier, MD
Posts: 428
Right. But, the resolution change between HDV and DV will effectively eliminate any compression artifacts that existed in the original HDV footage. So effectively it's only the DV pass of compression that makes a difference. And you would have had that shooting directly to DV anyways.

Another option is to downsample and go in to your edit system via the component cable. You'd need an analog board on your edit system, but you could effectively get uncompressed SD video that way.
Brett Sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 12:05 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
I have FX1 and have used 3 different scenarios. The first is to actually edit in HDV, and then render out to DV. Works well, especially if you want an HDV final version for future use, as well a DV final version. I haven't tried extensive tweaking in this process, but I would guess that a little more work would make my DV output even better.

Second method is to shoot HDV, and down convert after from camera during capture. I've done that, and the downcoverted DV is just fine.

Finally, I've even shot a project in 16:9 DV, to use with VX2000 DV. I had to put the VX in 16:9 format too. The FX1 outdid the VX, which is to be expected since the VX 16:9 is a reduced resolution format. But they actually cut pretty well together for SD production.

I would not hesitate to use the FX7 or V1 in the same situations.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 03:55 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 621
I could see one advantage of shooting in SD DV: you get uncompressed WAV audio, instead of MPEG-layer compressed.

Of course, if you're really doing something where audio quality is so critical, you'd probably be using a standalone audio recorder anyway.
Brian Standing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 03:58 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Posts: 326
I decided to put downconversion to a test. I assumed that the three modes of downconversion, squeeze, letterbox, and crop would be available over I-link and they are not. You get a 4:3 squeeze. It seems as if you have to go analog out to downconvert without getting the squeezed look. Am I missing something?
Lee Berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 04:06 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 11
No, I believe you are correct (unfortunately) Using this camera as a Standard Definition device is fraught with obstacles.

A warning about Analog Component. It will give you uncompressed...but without timecode!
Eric Johannes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 04:36 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hillsborough, NC, USA
Posts: 968
Has anyone tried this?

Record to tape in HDV.
At the same time, record the SD DV output to disk (or another DV device).

In theory, the live DV output can be derived from the pre-MPEG2 compressed image. (Whether it is or not would depend on the particular manufacturer's implementation).

Hence, you'd get the HDV version on tape and an SD DV version on disk (or second device). This DV version would be better than that obtained by playing back the HDV and downconverting. In effect, it would be similar to that obtained from downconverting I-frame only HDV.

If I had an HDV camcorder, I'd try it...

So, is anyone willing to try it and report back?

Basically, record something in HDV to tape and, simultaneously, capture SD DV via FireWire.

Then, playback the HDV recording and capture a second SD DV file.

I expect there to be a difference....at least with some HDV camcorders...especially where there is significant motion.
John Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 04:46 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Posts: 326
That would probably work, except you would be stuck with a squeezed 4:3 SD version because you don't have crop or letterbox option on the convert to DV out.
Lee Berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 04:53 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hillsborough, NC, USA
Posts: 968
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Berger
That would probably work, except you would be stuck with a squeezed 4:3 SD version because you don't have crop or letterbox option on the convert to DV out.
That's easily remedied with our Enosoft DV Processor (!) - it can convert widescreen DV (i.e., tagged as 16:9) to letterboxed 4:3 on the fly and, if needs be, from one DV device to another without capturing a file.
John Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 05:26 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brett Sherman
My question, is why you would want to shoot in SD. Since the camera provides capabilities of down-sampling what you shoot to DV on playback, I'd shoot in HDV then make a DV dupe from the camera. You get the best of both worlds. If you ever need to go back to the HD version, you have it.
it's what the client wants. whether they have problems with editing hd, or are geared (vtr's, vision mixers, etc.,) for sd is neither here nor there - i've been asked to supply 16:9 sd.

and the customer is always right ;-)

leslie
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2007, 05:32 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hillsborough, NC, USA
Posts: 968
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leslie Wand
it's what the client wants. whether they have problems with editing hd, or are geared (vtr's, vision mixers, etc.,) for sd is neither here nor there - i've been asked to supply 16:9 sd.

and the customer is always right ;-)

leslie
Do they want letterboxed 4:3 or true 16:9 that will display natively on a 16:9 screen?
John Miller is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network