HDMI out from V1 = 720p ... what the? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 28th, 2007, 09:35 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 735
HDMI out from V1 = 720p ... what the?

I finally bought myself an HDMI cable and connected my V1P to my brand new Benq 24" 1920x1200 monitor.

I was surprised to see that the image was not filling the whole monitor, but about 2/3 of it.

I looked at the settings on the monitor and had the 1:1 pixel mapping turned on, so it should have been displaying 1920x1080.

But in the information menu on the monitor, it said it was receiving a 720p signal via the HDMI cable.

How can that be?

I tested the V1 on Record and Playback, and made sure I was in HDV mode.
__________________
John Hewat
Mammoth Media Productions
John Hewat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2007, 01:10 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 334
My Phillips HDTV indicates 1080i when I hook up my camera to the HDMI input.

Maybe it's a TV setting...
Matt Vanecek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2007, 01:28 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Posts: 326
Hooking my V1u to a Dell 2407 using an HDMI to DVI cable results in a display of 480i. I was expecting 1080i, but I could never get it to work. Heck, I'd be happy with 720p. The same V1u with the same settings happily displays glorious 1080i on a Sony 60" SXRD rear projector when using an HDMI cable. Plug it into the Dell... 480i.

John
John Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2007, 02:29 AM   #4
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Welcome to the screwed-up world of HDMI/DVI. The monitor should report to the source -- v1 -- what its resolution is. But, with a DVI port the monitor is not correctly responding.

Anyone who works in hd needs to fork over the money for a real 32" to 50" LCD HDTV monitor with HDMI. Using a computer monitor is only asking for trouble. Dump the Dell and get a Bravia.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2007, 02:36 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Mullen View Post
Welcome to the screwed-up world of HDMI/DVI. The monitor should report to the source -- v1 -- what its resolution is. But, with a DVI port the monitor is not correctly responding.

Anyone who works in hd needs to fork over the money for a real 32" to 50" LCD HDTV monitor with HDMI. Using a computer monitor is only asking for trouble. Dump the Dell and get a Bravia.
Or, for much lower price, a 1920x1200 LCD with component input.
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2007, 03:28 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 1,961
I had the same problem with a 24" computer monitor. Even the component wouldn't work right. On all "TV" sets I've tried, the signal has been either 480i on smaller HD models or 1080i on larger sets. I have never had 720p come up.

The ONLY HD monitor under 26" that I have had a good report from is the Vizio VX-20L. This came in from Seth Bloombaum.

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...t=82145&page=2

It's amazing how difficult this has been, but at least there is some sort of solution that isn't huge or cost a fortune. I've seen this monitor at Costco and it wasn't so bad. I'm not that crazy about LCD HDTV monitors due to an artifact that looks like macroblocking. I think it may be partially a result of the video signal sent to the displays in the store. The Vizio VX-20L didn't seem to have so much of this problem, but it doesn't look as high in resolution as a big plasma display. Seth said it looks good viewing video at home, so I'm not taking too much stock in the in-store image. I may take my V1 in some day to do some tests.
Marcus Marchesseault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2007, 03:31 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 1,961
I think we need to start a thread to list every small-sized monitor that properly displays video from the V1 through HDMI and make it a sticky.
Marcus Marchesseault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2007, 05:04 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Mullen View Post
Welcome to the screwed-up world of HDMI/DVI. The monitor should report to the source -- v1 -- what its resolution is. But, with a DVI port the monitor is not correctly responding.

Anyone who works in hd needs to fork over the money for a real 32" to 50" LCD HDTV monitor with HDMI. Using a computer monitor is only asking for trouble. Dump the Dell and get a Bravia.
I'm not using HDMI -> DVI, I'm using HDMI to HDMI.

My Benq has HDMI with HDCP enabled. I don't understand it...
__________________
John Hewat
Mammoth Media Productions
John Hewat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2007, 03:50 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 12
Has anyone heard of any other HDTV monitors working correctly with the V1?

I have a Samsung 42" Plasma that reports 480i from the camera as well as a 40" Bravia, which it reported correctly as 1080i (and looked amazing as well).
Mike Dunning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2007, 09:14 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Dunning View Post
I have a Samsung 42" Plasma that reports 480i from the camera as well as a 40" Bravia, which it reported correctly as 1080i (and looked amazing as well).
Don't you experience quite a bit of lag or ghosting on the LCD TVs though? When I've plugged my V1 & Z1s into the Full HD Bravias and the Samsung the ghosting is bleedingly obvious.
__________________
John Hewat
Mammoth Media Productions
John Hewat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2007, 09:50 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 1,961
My camera looks FANTASTIC plugged into a big plasma or LCD screen. It's the small monitors that don't accept 1080i HDMI signals that are the problem. It would be nice if there was a proper image scaler in computer monitors with DVI, but it never seems to work at HD. Every computer monitor with DVI I have tried will play the video, but downscale to 480. I need a production HD monitor much more than I need a 42" television. Computer monitors have the screen resolution and the right connector but they don't scale the image properly.
Marcus Marchesseault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2007, 11:57 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcus Marchesseault View Post
My camera looks FANTASTIC plugged into a big plasma or LCD screen. It's the small monitors that don't accept 1080i HDMI signals that are the problem. It would be nice if there was a proper image scaler in computer monitors with DVI, but it never seems to work at HD. Every computer monitor with DVI I have tried will play the video, but downscale to 480. I need a production HD monitor much more than I need a 42" television. Computer monitors have the screen resolution and the right connector but they don't scale the image properly.
That's strange - I always figured it would be the LCD TVs that had problems.
__________________
John Hewat
Mammoth Media Productions
John Hewat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2007, 12:15 AM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 1,961
I don't claim to be the expert on HDTV models, but I do have a preference for plasma screens because of artifacting that looks like macroblocking on almost all LCD models. I think it is a function of deficient image processing circuitry and not because of a lack of resolution. I have compared many large LCD models next to plasma screens showing the same content and there is a definite problem with most LCD HDTVs. Regardless, the image on some of them is fairly good and the resolution would be enough to judge focus with some models. The LCD HDTV that looked almost as good as a plasma with the V1 was a projection LCD console.

There are no small HD plasma models, so we must try to find LCD models with HDMI compatibility with the V1.
Marcus Marchesseault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2007, 01:18 AM   #14
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcus Marchesseault View Post
There are no small HD plasma models, so we must try to find LCD models with HDMI compatibility with the V1.
I've plugged my V1 into a fair number of LCD HDTVs from India to the USA and it always worked fine. But, these were HomeTtheater units -- not PC type monitors.

I simply don't trust the PC units as even with expensive theater units more than half do not deinterlace correctly.

Look for any Sharp or Sony 32" to 42" LCD. Smaller is just too small. Go to the AVS Forum and read about which ones work. This is not the list for Home Theater monitors. :)
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:53 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network