Focusing with V1U at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 23rd, 2007, 07:48 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,435
Focusing with V1U

On some cameras, it is possible to:

- zoom in
- focus
- go wide to frame the shot as you wish, and focus stays the same

Is it possible with V1U too? (I have grave doubts, but hey...)
Alex Raskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 07:57 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Of course it is possible - and often desirable. There's been one report on loosing focus when re-framing, but that was due to the "back focus" problem with that particular unit.
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 09:32 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Posts: 326
Piotr,
It was my camera and it wasn't the back focus. It was operator error in having the macro focus function engaged. As I stated in other posts the owner's manual shows Macro Focus ON as the default setting so users check to see if the Macro Flower icon is displayed in the viewfinder.

Lee
Lee Berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 09:51 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,435
Lee, are you saying that with Macro Focus ON, the re-framing will lose focus?
Alex Raskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 10:05 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Berger View Post
Piotr,
It was my camera and it wasn't the back focus. It was operator error in having the macro focus function engaged. As I stated in other posts the owner's manual shows Macro Focus ON as the default setting so users check to see if the Macro Flower icon is displayed in the viewfinder.

Lee
Lee, sorry I forgot about the conclusion of your thread. However, I must tell you that with my unit, the Macro Focus setting doesn't matter - it can be ON or OFF, I always get perfect focus when focusing back, regardless! Of course, I'm talking about shooting distances longer than the 0.8m or something...
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 12:06 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Raskin View Post
Lee, are you saying that with Macro Focus ON, the re-framing will lose focus?
That was what the tech at Sony told me after they received the camera. I did some tests when I got it back with Macro Off and the focus worked as expected.
Lee Berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 12:19 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piotr Wozniacki View Post
the Macro Focus setting doesn't matter - it can be ON or OFF, I always get perfect focus when focusing back, regardless! Of course, I'm talking about shooting distances longer than the 0.8m or something...
Piotr,
That's interesting. What aperture are you shooting? My focus problems in Macro occurred at wide open aperture, shooting at least 1.5 meters away from the subject. If you're shooting at f 5.6 or greater then perhaps the focus is not as critical. In the last interview with focus problem I was rolling as I zoomed in to get my focus. It was very clear in playback that I got razor sharp focus on the subject's eye, and it turned soft as I framed the shot. Anyway I'll just leave the macro off unless I need it.
Lee Berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 12:25 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Lee,
I'm trying to never go below F5.6, with tighter apertures it's really hard to tell a razor sharp focus from anything close to it.

Anyway, I'm also turning the macro off, but for quite a different reason: it makes the focus ring much more precise.
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive

Last edited by Piotr Wozniacki; June 23rd, 2007 at 02:36 PM.
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:22 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network