FX1 + VideoMic at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 26th, 2008, 07:19 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Italy
Posts: 22
FX1 + VideoMic

Hi!
I've ordered a Sony HDR-FX1. I have a Rode VideoMic and I wanted to use it on the camera. Are there any problems in the installation of the mic? I've read that the mic will not let the LCD open or close. Do I need a shoe extender like the Rycote Hot Shoe Extension Tab? Will it fix the problem (if there's any)?
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...Extension.html

Thank you so much for the answer.
Luca Coralli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2008, 07:37 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Yes, the mic mount does get slightly in the way. There's enough "give" in the shockmount and the LCD screen to work them both, however. It's not a big issue for me.

I also have one of these on the handle, to which I can mount the mic:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...arch&Q=*&bhs=t

The picture on the website does not show the included cold shoe for the mic. At least it used to be included.
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2008, 07:47 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Italy
Posts: 22
Thanks for the answer. I live in Italy and that accessory does't exist here. Instead, the Rycote exists in Italy: do you think it's a god way to solve the "problem" or it doesn't fix anything? Thanks again.
Luca Coralli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2008, 11:50 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
This might sound strange, but I would recommend picking up a Z1 mic mount assembly and mount it on your FX1.

Check out (and contact) this post from John Woo (out of the Philippines). He is selling the entire mic assembly as well as spacer (which Sony does not sell). He also sells it, from time to time on Ebay.

I purchased 2 from him and have them on both my FX1's.

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...t=z1+mic+mount

http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s...derwspacer.jpg

Then pickup a dual J-Rod from here to mount your shotgun mic as well as wireless.
http://thej-rod.com/

That's what I did and as such my mic mount problem was solved.

BTW I also have that Delvcambracket on one of my handles for my camera light, as I hate the Sony coldshoe mount. It works great also.
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2008, 12:16 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luca Coralli View Post
Thanks for the answer. I live in Italy and that accessory does't exist here. Instead, the Rycote exists in Italy: do you think it's a god way to solve the "problem" or it doesn't fix anything? Thanks again.
I think it should; anything that lets you move the mic towards the aft end of the cam should help.
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2008, 12:32 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Italy
Posts: 22
Thanks for the help guys. I'll se what is the best to do...
Luca Coralli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2008, 11:04 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 160
[QUOTE=Michael Liebergot;815260]This might sound strange, but I would recommend picking up a Z1 mic mount assembly and mount it on your FX1.

Check out (and contact) this post from John Woo (out of the Philippines).



I am from Singapore, not Philippines. Thanks Mike
John Woo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2008, 12:09 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
[QUOTE=John Woo;815887]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Liebergot View Post
This might sound strange, but I would recommend picking up a Z1 mic mount assembly and mount it on your FX1.

Check out (and contact) this post from John Woo (out of the Philippines).



I am from Singapore, not Philippines. Thanks Mike
Woops sorry John.
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2008, 05:04 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 169
Thanks for the recommendation on The J-Rod Michael !
If you do grab the Z1 mic mount Luca The J-Rod will work great for you. You will be able to mount a receiver too.
Jeff Rhode is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:46 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network