Sony Z1U/FX1 camcorder at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 25th, 2008, 04:40 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Graham, Washington
Posts: 44
Sony Z1U/FX1 camcorder

I would like to confirm that the component output from the Sony Z1U (or FX1) does not include any post mpeg2 gop compression during recording? The manual does not mention if the output to component is before any compression.
Richard Eary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2008, 07:09 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Iron Horse Guest Ranch, Plantersville, TX
Posts: 319
The component uncompressed (1440x1080) HDV. If the output is from tape, the output will still suffer from MPEG2 compression. Live capture from component would avoid this effect.
__________________
Vic Wilcox, http://wilcoxvideoproductions.com/Default.aspx
Sony FDR-AX100, DJI Phantom 4 Pro, Vegas Pro 14, Manfrotto 503HDV/535 CF Tripod
Victor Wilcox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2008, 11:51 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Graham, Washington
Posts: 44
live capture - notebook - firewire compressed - component ?

That is great news. I am unaware of any way to capture component (high def) to a notebook. Have you came across any solutions? Or, is AJA and Blackmagic connected to a desktop the only realiable solution at this time. I am sure firewire light capture would result in compression.
Richard Eary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2008, 09:08 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 148
The original demo footage from Sony for the Z1 was done by capturing the component output. IMO that's cheating but it does prove what amazing output that is possible before compression.
Konrad Haskins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2008, 11:51 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Graham, Washington
Posts: 44
Wow, that is interesting. Still no way to get component into a notebook.
Richard Eary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2008, 04:52 AM   #6
Tourist
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bucharest Romania
Posts: 1
Probably AJA IoHD is the best choice for notebook component capture. I did component with Blackmagic DecklinkHD in FCP 1080i. But I can't find if the signal is 4.2.2 or 4.2.0.
Bogdan Tores is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2008, 12:46 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Graham, Washington
Posts: 44
I believe that only works for Macs. Could not locate anything which said it would work on a Windows platform.
Richard Eary is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:50 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network