Workflow for using wireless mikes? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 25th, 2008, 01:30 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 496
Workflow for using wireless mikes?

Till I get my replacement manual and the wireless Sennheiser mikes come in, can someone give a workflow on how one hooks up and uses wireless mikes with the FX1 and checks sound?
__________________
Dave -
Dave Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2008, 07:38 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ontario, California
Posts: 307
Connect the receiver to the FX1, make sure that the receiver and transmitter are in the same frequency, adjust the mic gain to your taste, wear a headphone and adjust the volume thru the volume control on the back of the camera.
Rickey Brillantes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2008, 10:23 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
Dave another method could be this. The reason that I am bringing up the XLR box, is that, since you are avoiding the cameras noisy internal pre amps and using an XLR unit with built in low noise pre amps, your audio will be much quieter.

Pickup an XLR box, my recommendation is one from Juicedlink Juicedlink XLR Adapters

Then plug your G2 into XLR CH1 and shotgun mic into CH2 (if desired).

Then turn on your receiver only (leave your transmitter off) and check to see if there is any activity on your channel that is currently set. If there is activity, then find another channel.

Set your FX1's onboard audio to (5).

Turn on your transmitter and set your audio level.

Go to your XLR box (Channel 1 with wireless) and set pre amp to M (Medium) level so that you don't have much if any low frequency noise.

Go back to your receiver and set levels.

If you are running 2 wireless then make sure that they are both set to the same "BANK", but different frequencies in the "BANK".

You should now be good to go.

For a detailed tutorial on setup for your Sennheiser wireless, see this tutorial done by Guy Cochran.
Sennheiser Wireless Tutorial on Vimeo

It's very detailed and well done.
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2008, 02:12 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: spain
Posts: 1,169
What about the wireless are on the same bank?What happens?Never tryed....
Marcus Martell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2008, 02:48 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcus Martell View Post
What about the wireless are on the same bank?What happens?Never tryed....
Marcus, the reason that Sennheiser recommends using your Sennheiser wireless units on the same bank but different frequencies, is that each bank has been preset to run with little risk of interference from each wireless unit. The channel frequencies are spaced well enough that they prevent interfering with each other.

If you run your Sennheiser units to use different banks, then you run the risk of the wireless interfering with each other, as the frequencies might be too close to each in their frequency range.
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com

Last edited by Michael Liebergot; December 30th, 2008 at 06:28 PM.
Michael Liebergot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2008, 05:58 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: spain
Posts: 1,169
Thank you MIKE!I really appreciate it!Have an happy new year!

MM
Marcus Martell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2008, 08:02 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: spain
Posts: 1,169
Last question:How can you see if the frequency is busy?
Marcus Martell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2008, 09:17 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcus Martell View Post
Last question:How can you see if the frequency is busy?
The easiest way to check is to make sure that ALL of your transmitters are off and then turn on your receiver.

If you see any RF activity then find another channel.

Anther way is to do a Frequency Sweep using the Sennheisers built in "Sweep" setting in the menu.

Keep in mind though that if the venue will be using a wireless as well, then you want to either find out what bandwidth it operates on, or at least turn on the transmitters to guaratee that they won't interfere with your system.
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:41 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network