Time lapse settings...Z1/fx1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 24th, 2009, 10:24 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: spain
Posts: 1,169
Time lapse settings...Z1/fx1

Hi guys wich are the best setting you suggest me to make a nice timelapse?
Thx a lot
Marcus Martell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 02:11 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billericay, England UK
Posts: 4,711
The best setting by far is to film in real time. Then, in the peace and quiet of your edit studio you can decide what's best, ramp the speeds up and down and best of all click the undo button and try something else.

If you have the FX1 you can slect LP, slot in an 80 min tape and grab two hours of real time.

My 'on-axis' shots of boats climbing up a hillside through numerous locks needed completely different time lapse speeds for the tanks filling up and the lock gates opening and closing.

tom.
Tom Hardwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2009, 05:04 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: spain
Posts: 1,169
Thank you Tom, iill do exactly as u stated.I remember reading somewhere suggestion about the shutter setting for this kind of time lapse.A dvinfo user told me about a script that i could use with sony Vegas to speed up the velocity but i can't find it.....
Btw thanks in advance for your patience!
Marcus Martell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2009, 05:19 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billericay, England UK
Posts: 4,711
You'll be safe using any shutter speed at your disposal, and speeding the footage up on the timeline effectively takes one frame here, then bypasses 10 frames (say) then grabs another frame, then bypasses, and so on.

The last school play I filmed started in real time in the empty theatre, then gradually and smoothly increased to 500x real time as the kids came in and took their seats. That's the bit the kids liked best in the whole DVD.

tom.
Tom Hardwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2009, 06:23 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: spain
Posts: 1,169
hi my friend, and in this scene wich shutter setting did you use?
Marcus Martell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2009, 08:16 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billericay, England UK
Posts: 4,711
The default shutter speed of (PAL) 1/50th sec. The timelapse world is so unreal though you could use practically any speed you choose.
Tom Hardwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2009, 02:24 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: spain
Posts: 1,169
Thx TOM! ...
Marcus Martell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 05:05 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Broadstairs,Kent, England
Posts: 219
There's a script made by JOhn Meyer which you can find here; go for number 7:

VASST - search

I've used this script in Vegas 6 and 7 for a few years now and does time lapse better than any camera setting. Good luck!
Chris Hewitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2009, 04:39 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: spain
Posts: 1,169
Thx a lot my friend
Marcus Martell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2009, 02:25 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: spain
Posts: 1,169
Ok i've downloaded,how should i act?
Marcus Martell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2009, 02:59 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: spain
Posts: 1,169
I think this script is usefulif i have recorded many clips with the camcorder.In my case, i left the camcorder recording for 1 hour.
Let me know
thx

Last edited by Marcus Martell; March 22nd, 2009 at 05:59 AM.
Marcus Martell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2009, 07:03 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Broadstairs,Kent, England
Posts: 219
Copy and paste the JMH script into C/Program Files/Sony/Vegas 7/Script Menu.

Run Vegas, then double-click the horizontal toolbar at the top just above the time increments and this will open a 'Customize Toolbar' window. In that window on the left, scroll down till you see the JMH script. Select that script, then press 'Add', then press 'Close'.

You should now see the script icon appear on the toolbar.

OK, add a videofile but delete the audio as you don't want to timelapse the sound, no point.
With the video on the timeline, click the JMH script and drag and drop it onto the video clip.

(Just remembered, you need to split the video clip into seperate events, say, one second in length. The script will then delete all but one frame from each event and butt them all together giving you instant timelapse. You can experiment to see what sort of speed suits you.
To split any lengthy video clip into seperate events will drive you crazy after a couple of minutes so you might want to look at buying VASST Ultimate S which will do that for you very nicely plus a whole lot more. But you can download a demo which I believe works for a month without limitations and that will tell you if you really need the program. Buy it, it's a massive timesaver.) Hope this helps! Adios amigo!!
Chris Hewitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2009, 12:43 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lathrup Village, MI
Posts: 59
Time Lapse in FCP

How do you do time lapse in FCP 6?

THX
Melvin Baggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2009, 08:04 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 259
is there anyway to slow the camera enough that you can film longer than on an 80 minute tape in HDV?

like 1 frame per minute? or is that something better done with a still camera?
Chris Westerstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2009, 08:21 AM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billericay, England UK
Posts: 4,711
If you had an HDV camera that could accurately do single frame shooting, then yes - at one frame per minute your tape would run for 40 hours. Better connect the camera to the mains.
Tom Hardwick is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network