Time Lapse? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 31st, 2009, 02:01 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 64
Time Lapse?

Ive already searched but am unable to figure out how to do this. Is there a setting on the camera or is it something I need to do in post editing? We are shooting a small ghost doc just for fun this weekend and would like to set up a time lapse camera. We are using the z1u's but can also use pd170 if anyone knows how to do the time lapse on those.

Once again thanks for the help!

Mabry
Charles Mabry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2009, 06:45 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles Mabry View Post
Is there a setting on the camera or is it something I need to do in post editing?
There is a 'sort of' mode, but I never used it because it doesn't do just one frame at a time. There's two common methods:

1) Shoot in real time and speed it up in post

2) Connect the camera to a computer and capture frames via firewire

The first method limits you to an hour of unattended shooting, and requires real-time capture. Fine for something that's over and done in 5-20 minutes, but not really much use for proper timelapse stuff. But it works, and it's fine for ad-hoc stuff.

The second method is far more flexible. As a Mac user, I'd recommend Boinx iStopMotion

Boinx Software - iStopMotion 2 - Pro

I'm sure there's an equivalent PC application out there.

Of course, this assumes you have a spare PC, a power supply and somewhere safe to put it all.

On the other hand, some cameras have built-in intervalometers. My old Pentax Optio 750 could take up to 99 images, which I'd make into a high definition movie and move it around in the editing package.

Doing timelapse on tape is mechanically tricky and potentially damaging to the tape heads, plus it would eat up battery power.
__________________
Director/Editor - MDMA Ltd: Write, Shoot, Edit, Publish - mattdavis.pro
EX1 x2, C100 --> FCPX & PPro6
Matt Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2009, 09:18 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 640
My best results with time lapse were done by shooting 1 hour of regular video and then speeding it up in PP CS3.
Greg Laves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2009, 08:38 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 64
Thanks guys.... we dont use mac, thanks to mil contracts we are stuck with pc. I will try some stuff out and see what I can come up with.

Once again... thanks for the help.
Charles Mabry is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:53 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network